Crockett, Frederick lead All-Division 6-3A

Published 6:00 am Monday, December 18, 2000

Mark Frederick and Barry Crockett. Those two players highlightthe 2000 All-Division 6-3A Football Team.

Frederick, a 5-foot-11, 230 pound fullback/linebacker from thedivision champion Wilkinson County Wildcats, collected defensiveand co-offensive MVP awards.

Frederick led the Wildcats to a second straight Division 6-3Atitle and an appearance in the class 3A playoffs before eventualchamp Magee beat the Wildcats 32-18 in the second round.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“Mark was our go-to guy this season,” said Wildcat head coachJohn Moore. “He was our workhorse on both sides of the ball. Heplayed 95 percent of the downs this season.”

Frederick’s totals were eye-opening as he compiled 162 tackles,8 sacks, 5 fumble recoveries, and one interception on defense. Onoffense Frederick was equally impressive, racking up 1,191 yards on88 carries for 16 touchdowns.

Sharing the offensive MVP with Frederick was Amite Countyspeedster Barry Crockett (5-10, 200) who amassed 1,237 yardsrushing on 130 carries for the high-powered Trojans. Crockett hitthe endzone 11 times in 2000.

“Barry was our money man,” said Trojan head coach CharlesJackson. “His last three division games were the best of hiscareer.”

Elsewhere the all-division team consisted of several Port Gibsonplayers such as runningback Mason Denham, quarterback Ocie Brown,offensive linemen Wilbert Speed and Mell Bryant, wingback CharlieNorrell, defensive tackles Quentin Turner and Darrell Hamilton,linebacker Dexter Eves, and safety Marcus Shorter.

At Hazlehurst, coach Willie Brown’s Indians wererepresented by seniors Pat King at defensive end, Fred Fair atreceiver, Damien Gary at cornerback, Clifton Wiley at linebacker,and Lamorie Robinson at offensive tackle.

At Franklin County, honors went to seniors Cole Zumbrofor punter and Greg Williams at center. Junior James Hunt got thenod at linebacker while junior Walter Anderson entered the team asa cornerback.

Hunt led the Bulldogs on defense with 108 tackles, twofumble recoveries, and one interception returned for atouchdown.

North Pike players Zack Young and J.R. Alexanderreceived honors for tackle and punter respectively.



Amite County: RB-Barry Crockett, WR-NathanBanks.

Franklin County: LB-James Hunt, P-Cole Zumbro, C-GregWilliams, CB-Walter Anderson.

Hazlehurst: OL-Lamorie Robinson, DE-Pat King,WR-Fred Fair. LB-Clifton Wiley, CB- Damien Gary.

Jefferson County: FS-Larry Dougless, LB-TevaresHughes.

North Pike: K-J.R. Alexander, OL-ZackYoung.

Port Gibson: QB-Ocie Brown, WR- CharlieNorrell, OL-Mell Bryant, OL-Wilbert Speed, DT-Quentin Turner,DT-Darrell Hamilton, LB-Dexter Eves, SS-Marcus Shorter.

Wilkinson County: LB/FB-Mark Frederick,FS-Charlie Spiller, DE-Peter Lollis, OL-TreMaine Johnson.

Offensive MVP: Barry Crockett-Amite County,Mark Frederick-Wilkinson County.

Defensive MVP: Mark Frederick-WilkinsonCounty.

Coach of the Year: John Moore, WilkinsonCounty,

Charles Jackson, Amite County.