Banquet salutes BHS athletes

Published 5:00 am Wednesday, May 14, 2003

Coach David Misner and his Class 4A state tournamentchampionship Brookhaven tennis team received a standing ovationfrom the estimated crowd of 250 Monday night at the BHS SpringAthletic Banquet. Athletes in tennis, baseball, track, golf andfastpitch softball were honored last night with a banquet at theBrookhaven/Lincoln County Multi-Use Facility.

Brookhaven first-year athletic director Tucker Peavey said hehas learned much about sports besides football this year. “I’mcontinually impressed by the high caliber of quality athletes wehave playing spring sports.”

Misner said Brookhaven tennis has set a high standard inMississippi, winning state titles two of the last three years. “Ourkids were first class all the way. They set an example in how theycompete, how they play, how they dress and how they conductthemselves.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Senior Stuart Misner, winner of three singles and one doublesstate championship during his high school career, posted a 47-1match record in singles. He was named Most Valuable Boy.

Senior Sadie Corban, a singles and mixed doubles star, was namedfemale MVP. Lindsey Hall was chosen Most Improved Girl and MitchHuckaby was named Most Improved Boy.

The tennis Scholastic Award went to Judson Langston and Corban.Langston teamed with Lane Lofton to win a second straight boysdoubles state championship. Lofton received the Coach’s Award.

In baseball, Randy Spring, the Division 6-4A Coach of the Year,praised his Panthers for winning the division championship. Hepresented assistant coach Jeremy Albritton with an autographedbaseball and thanked him for three years of dedication to theprogram. Albritton and his wife, Adriane, are moving toJackson.

In an unprecedented move, Spring presented the entire varsityteam with MVP plaques. He said winning the division championshipwas a total team effort.

Pitcher Scotty Smith was recognized as Best Pitcher and MostImproved. Outfielder Cory Smith was named Best Defensive Playerwhile shortstop Brooks Hall and third baseman Reggie Smith sharedBest Offensive Player honors. The Scholastic Award went to JoshTownsend.

Justin Sykes, making a strong comeback from arm surgery,received the Panther Award. Sykes and Townsend were recognized aspermanent Team Captains.

Sykes, Hall, Cory Smith, Reggie Smith and Scotty Smith werenamed to the All-Division First Team. Honorable mention went toAdam Ogden, Grant McDonnieal, Josh Anderson, Darius Perkins andTownsend.

In fastpitch softball, first-year head coach Eric Stokespresented the awards. Stokes praised the Lady Panthers for theirefforts. “They never gave up. They played hard. I taught you torespect the game.”

Senior pitcher Mandy Vinson was named MVP. The Scholastic Awardwent to Courtney Fielder. Megan Bateman received the Best OffensivePlayer and Samantha Boutwell was chosen Best Defensive Player. TheHustle Award went to Ashley Sykes. Most Improved honors went tosophomore Kayla Prince.

Ryan Ross presented the golf awards and complimented his teamfor their seventh place finish in the Class 4A State Tournamentwhich was hosted by the Brookhaven Country Club last week.

“It was a most enjoyable year,” said Ross. “Toward the end ofthe season, the kids really started to score better. They arematuring.”

Junior Cody Jordan was named Most Valuable Player. PhillipHammond was recognized as Most Improved. The Scholastic Award wentto Tedrick Ratcliff.

Coaches Pat Hardy and Rod Henderson presented the track awards.The Lady Panthers won the division and regional track meets andfinished third in South Mississippi.

“I want to thank Coach Peavey and (BHS principal, Susan) Mrs.Chapman for their support,” said Hardy. “We want to continuebuilding this team into a state championship program.”

The track MVP awards went to Kenyata Coleman and Jimmy Johns.Scholastic Awards went to Coleman and Anthony Nelson. The PantherAward was won by Elaine Smith.

Ivy Brown was recognized as Most Improved Girl and AnthonyCaffey was named Most Improved Boy. Most Valuable Distance runnerswere Alesha Irvin and Jeffrey Dow.

The Most Valuable Field Events awards went to Latoya Kerr andJohns. Co-winners of the Most Valuable Sprinter award were ShalesiaTrunner and Hawkins.