• 72°

AAA all-stars announced; subdistrict starts Thursday

The Brookhaven Dixie Youth Baseball American League AAAAll-Stars have been announced. Playing on this year’s team areAnthony Durr, Zach Canon, Slade Rushing, Lance Spring, BlakeFugler, Chance Owens, Daniel Huckaby, Hunter Franklin, AustinTravis, Jeff Rushing, Taylor Jones, Landry Barrilleaux and HunterSmith.

The head coach is Mark Durr. Assistant coaches are TommyFranklin and Freddie Canon.

Representing Brookhaven on the Dixie Youth Baseball AAA NationalLeague All-Star Team are Zach Ashley, Konner Burke, Corey Funk,Will Hickman, Sawyer Hudson, Drew Jones, Leighton Jordan, LoganKillingsworth, Jeremy Laird,, Will Lucas, Brennan Miller, JacobPhilipp and Brock Smith.

Coaching the Nationals are head coach Larry Killingsworth andassistant coaches Glenn Miller and Andrew Hickman.

The DYB AAA North Subdistrict Six Tournament starts Thursday atKeystone Park. Two games will be played at 6 p.m. as Brookhaven’sNational League All-Stars play Wesson on Field One and NatchezWallace plays Natchez Adams on Field Two. The Brookhaven Americansplay Copiah County at 8 p.m.

Action continues Friday and Saturday in the double-eliminationtournament.

Nine-Year-Old All-Stars

Brookhaven’s AAA 9-year-old all-stars will participate in adistrict tournament at Windsor Gay Youth Complex in Summit,starting Thursday, July 1. In the opening round, Brookhaven’sAmerican and National League all-stars collide at 6 p.m. Wessonmeets Pine Hills in the other 6 p.m. game.

McComb plays Copiah County at 8. Summit drew a bye and plays theCopiah-McComb winner Friday at 6 p.m.

Members of the National League all-star team are Braden Smith,Houston Case, Cody McCullough, Noah Allen, Dew Philipp, Hayden Hux,Blake Crawford, Logan Smith, Jared Case, Ryan Thibodeaux, DustyParks, Alex Gray and Luke Peavey.

Coaching the team are Todd Peavey, Jason Case and KevinSmith.

The 9-year-old American League all-stars include Alex Smith,Gage Posey, Braxton Foster, Graham Watson, Matthew Evans, GenoaSartin, Brendyn Brister, Christian Gill, Brandon Canny, PrestonRawls, Walker Franck, Seth Rushing and Taylor Barron.

Coaching the team are Rickey Smith, Kevin Posey and JohnFoster.