Three qualify for Nov. ballot as time runs out

Published 5:00 am Tuesday, September 7, 2004

Three candidates slipped in before Friday’s election qualifyingdeadline in Lawrence County, but Lincoln County’s election slateremained unchanged.

Incumbent Allen Thurman turned in papers late last week toreclaim his seat as District One school board member. He isunchallenged, Lawrence County Circuit Clerk Cindy Stokes said.

School Board Districts One, Two and Three are on the ballot.Thurman and incumbent Maxie Boutwell are unchallenged for DistrictsOne and Two, respectively.

Two candidates have qualified for the special election for theDistrict Three school board post left open when Sherry Thames wonelection as the county tax assessor/collector during partyprimaries in August.

Tony Thames, the tax assessor’s husband, appointed by the boardof supervisors last year, and Kenneth Platt have qualified.

All five election commissioner offices also are on theballot.

Joyce Price and Dortha Lipscomb also qualified for separateelection commissioner races, Stokes said.

Price qualified at the deadline to run against Lolly Schultz andMarie McWilliams to replace District Two incumbent MarilynDaughdrill, who chose not to seek re-election.

Lipscomb emerged at the deadline to challenge incumbent DistrictFive Election Commissioner Luejean Harvey.

Incumbent District Four Election Commissioner June Grubbs alsohas drawn a challenger. Shirley M. Walker has qualified to opposeher.

Incumbents in other district have qualified and are runningunchallenged. These are Martha Tynes, District One; Lorraine Smith,District Three; and June Grubbs, District Four.

The race for constable Post Two remains unchanged. It is also aspecial election because the office was left vacant when ClaudeDavis succumbed to a lengthy illness earlier this year. He had wonthe Post Two election during the primary in August.

His son, Brad Davis, was appointed to replace him and has alsoqualified for the office.

Other candidates for the office include Tony Norwood, whofinished second behind Claude Davis in the 2003 election; Claude H.Wallace, who placed third; and Tony Lambert, who also ran in lastyear’s election.

Edward C. May and Steve Reid also have entered the race for theconstable’s office.

In Lincoln County, the deadline passed with no newqualifiers.

Michael Posey is the sole qualifier for the District Five SchoolBoard post. He will replace incumbent Brenda Warren, who chose notto seek re-election after three terms in office.

The District Five position is the only school board office onthe Nov. 2 ballot.

The only other Lincoln County races on the general electionballot are for the five election commissioner offices.

Election commissioner incumbents all qualified on the openingday of the process. Incumbents include John Hightower, DistrictOne; Mike Byrne, District Two; Floy McClellan, District Three;Charles Smith, District Four; and Lee Warren, District Five.

Lee Warren is the only incumbent to be challenged. Robert Martinhas qualified to run against him.