Two qualify for District 92 spot

Published 6:00 am Tuesday, January 30, 2007

Two candidates moved quickly to qualify for state office lastweek after District 92 Rep. Dr. Jim Barnett announced he wouldretire and not seek re-election.

Paul Barnett, a Brookhaven businessman and the incumbent’s son,announced his intention to succeed his father Tuesday.

Brookhavenite Becky Currie, a registered nurse, also qualifiedto challenge for the post.

Both Barnett and Currie qualified for the Republican primary. NoDemocratic candidates have qualified.

District 92 includes parts of Lincoln and Franklin counties anda sliver of Copiah County, including a majority of Wesson.

“It’s been something I’ve been considering for a long time,”Paul Barnett said Saturday. “I’ve been a businessman for 18 yearsand I’d like to be able to apply that knowledge to local and stategovernment.”

Barnett said his politics are not all that different from hisfather’s.

“I would think on most issues we would have similar positions,”he said. “He always voted for what he thought was best for hisconstituents and I feel as though his voting record showsthat.”

Currie has been active in area Republican Party activities foryears and recently helped form a local Teenage Republican chapter.Attempts to contact her by telephone Saturday wereunsuccessful.

In other area races, incumbents District 39 Sen. CindyHyde-Smith, D-Brookhaven, has qualified as have incumbents Rep.Bobby Moak, D-Bogue Chitto, in District 53 and 14th JudicialDistrict Dewitt “Dee” Bates Jr., D-McComb, for districtattorney.

Three candidates for local office also emerged last week.Candidates for all county offices, except two, are Democrats. Thereare no independents.

Jeff Fauver has filed papers to challenge Incumbent DistrictFour Supervisor Doug Moak. Eddie Brown and Charles Davis have alsoqualified to campaign for that office.

Clint A. Earls has joined Kelly Porter and Don Smith inchallenging incumbent Charles Ralph Smith for constable PostOne.

Ricky Beavers will challenge Carl Brown, Andrew Graham, ChrisKing and Ann Reeves for the vacant Justice Court judge PostTwo.

The 2007 elections include nearly all county and state offices.Primaries will be held Aug. 7 with an Aug. 28 runoff, if necessary.The general election will be held Nov. 6.

Other candidates for county office include:

* Sheriff: Democrats Steve Rushing, the incumbent; Lynn Boyteand B.W. Pitts and Republican Terry Harper.

* Supervisor District One: Incumbent the Rev. Jerry Wilson.

* Supervisor District Two: Incumbent Bobby J. Watts, Ellis DaveChatmon and Jerry E. Nix.

* Supervisor District Three: Incumbent Nolan EarlWilliamson.

* Supervisor District Five: Incumbent Gary Walker and RepublicanDonald R. Golmon.

* Chancery Clerk: Democrats Tillmon Bishop, the incumbent, andMaxine McCoy Jones.

* Circuit Clerk: Incumbent Terry Lynn Watkins.

* Tax Assessor/Collector: Incumbent Nancy Jordan.

* Justice Court Judge Post One: Ralph Boone, Art Likens, ValerieShelby-Sterling and Trisha Jordan Weeks.

* Coroner: Incumbent Clay McMorris.

* Constable Post Two: Incumbent Lavon Boyd.

* Superintendent: Incumbent Terry Brister.

The office of county surveyor still has no candidates.

The qualifying period ends March 1.