Turner, Bourne lead All-Region 7-4A

Published 6:00 am Thursday, December 10, 2009

North Pike’s LaDerrick Turner and Columbia’s Derrick Bourne werenamed Co-Players of the Year on the 2009 Region 7-4A All-AreaFootball Team.

Selected as Co-Offensive Players of the Year were Josh Cameronof region champion Lawrence County and Revis Butler of regionrunner-up North Pike. Defensive Player of the Year honors went toMarcus Brown of Lawrence County.

The team kicker is Trevor Havis of Lawrence County.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Special Team Punter is Kevin Monzone of Crystal Springs.

Turner, a running back, rushed the football 177 times for 1,650yards and 28 touchdowns. He caught 26 passes for 560 yards.

Butler, at quarterback, completed 77 of 164 passes for 1,672yards. He rushed for 1,336 yards.

Cameron, a running back, carried 186 times for 1,470 yards andscored 20 touchdowns.

Brown, a linebacker, made 120 tackles including 69 solos.

Havis nailed 39 of 45 extra-point kicks and was a perfect3-for-3 on field goal attempts.

Named to the First Team from Lawrence County were Matthew Wells,Eric Boutte, Jamie McCardle, Kevin Bryant, Byron Hammond, DontezDaggins, Justin Barnes and Adam Watson.

From North Pike were Tonnie Collins, Jalen Adams, Tariq Johnson,A.J. Jefferson, P.J. Ratcliff, Tyler Dunn and Darius Tatum.

Selected as Honorable Mentions were Kendrick Barnes, John Brooksand Stephen Holden from Lawrence County. Representing North Pikewere Demetric Jackson, Brennan Miller, Joseph Jackson, JemerickJordan and Alex Rea.