Five Co-Lin players selected for MACJC All-Star Basketball Games

Published 7:00 am Thursday, March 28, 2013

DECATUR – Five members of Co-Lin’s men’s and women’s basketball teams are among the state’s top community and junior college basketball players that will have an opportunity to showcase their talents when the annual MACJC All-Star Basketball Games are held today at East Central Community College in Decatur. Women’s action begins at 6 p.m. and the men’s contest is set for 8 p.m. in the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building.

Three players from the Lady Wolves MACJC State Championship team selected to represent the South Division are Vintrice Briggs of Bude; Chanta Poole of Ferriday, La.; and LaVasha Allen of New Iberia, La.

Other members of the South Division All-Stars include Jaianah Matthew, Xzandra Dowd and Jakela Johnson, all of East Central; Vandria Dampier, Hinds; Shamekia Hart, Markia Nix and Presley Owens, all of MS Gulf Coast; Daiquiri Raine, Pearl River; and Cassie Berry, Southwest. Toby Bush of Pearl River serves as head coach.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

North Division women All-Stars are Bridgett Griffin, Coahoma; Dajah McCarty, East MS; Jessica Miles, Holmes; Ty-Nita Baker, Jasmine Hampton and Anna Lynn, all of Itawamba; Shanarika McCullum and Myiesha Stewart, both of MS Delta; Talisa Boyd and Katie Garvin, both of Northeast; and Monique Biggins and Nikki McChristian, both of Northwest. Brian Alexander of Northeast was selected head coach.

Co-Lin’s Jay Case of Brookhaven and Joe Cunningham of Moss Point will suit up for the men’s South Division All-Stars. Joining them will be Aquill Baynard, East Central; Dominique Brown and Marcus Hurn, both of Hinds; J.J. Bolton and Donte Pittman, both of Jones County; JaMichael Hawkins and Darius Forest, both of MS Gulf Coast; Frank Snow and Xavier Rimmer, both of Pearl River; and Donovan Ross, Southwest. Richard Mathis of Pearl River serves as head coach.

North Division men All-Stars are Patrick Brown and Alex Thompson, both of Coahoma; Keyan Pittman and Micah Walker, both of East MS; DeAndre Scott, Holmes; Quintin Lee and Tre Wells, both of Itawamba; Anthony McDonald, MS Delta; Acie Vance and KeDorian Sullivan, both of Northeast; and DeMarcus McVay and Charles Eaton, both of Northwest. David Robbins of Northeast will serve as head coach.

For more information, contact Crandal Porter, ECCC Lady Warrior head coach, 601-6243 or call toll free, 877-462-3222, ext. 243. Admission is $5 per person for the NJCAA-sanctioned event.

Both games will also be streamed on the Holmes Community College Web site,