• 66°

Area mayor Shaw named president of MML

Wesson Mayor Alton Shaw was elected as the 2014-2015 president of the Mississippi Municipal League at its 83rd Annual Conference in Biloxi last week.

The MML was established in 1931 and represents 291 city, town and village governments across Mississippi.



To be elected as president of the MML Officer Board, a member must first be elected and serve one year as second vice president, following another one-year term as first vice president and then be elected as president.

Having served the one-year term as president, the board member will resume their normal duties as a member of the executive board as long as they are mayor.

The 2014-2015 Officer Board will also consist of Mayor Jimmy Cockroft of Kosciusko as first vice president and Mayor Juan Barnett of Heidelburg as second vice president.