• 57°

Co-Lin announces 2015 football signing class

WESSON – Copiah-Lincoln head football coach Glenn Davis has released the 2015 Wolfpack football signing class. The 27-man class is loaded with talent as Co-Lin appears to have reaped the spoils of a 2014 season that saw them finish 8-3 and win the MACJC South Division.

Two members of the class, Leo Lewis and Joe Anderson, also signed with Division I schools on Wednesday. Lewis, a linebacker from Brookhaven, signed with Mississippi State. Anderson, a defensive end from Riverside Academy (Reserve, Louisiana), signed with Ole Miss. Double signing serves as an insurance policy in case the player doesn’t qualify academically. Two players, Lashard Durr (MSU) and Kyle Strickland (Arkansas State), in the 2014 class double signed. Both Durr and Strickland ended up in Wesson this season.

The class is loaded with defensive backs and defensive lineman, two positions that are essential in a league that features predominately spread offenses. Four members of the class are Mississippi/Alabama All-Star game alums. They are Lewis, Tommy Champion (Callaway), Keonatye Garner (Murrah) and LaDarius Galloway (Gentry).

Additionally, five signees suited up for the Bernard Blackwell All-Star Classic. They are Jermany McLaurin (Pearl), Jaylen Smith (Germantown), Alexander Hollins (Yazoo County), Michael Collum (Yazoo County) and Josh Spivey (Lake).

Schools with multiple signees include Callaway (two), Pearl (two), Gentry (three), and Yazoo County (four). The only other out-of-state signee besides Anderson was wide receiver Cam Harris. Harris is a 6-3, 185 lb. receiver from North Guliford High School in Greensboro, North Carolina.

The signing class will have big shoes to fill as Co-Lin additionally released their list of 25 sophomores who have signed with 4-year schools. Twenty-four of the sophomores had previously signed with their new school in December and transferred at the semester break. The only sophomore who signed on Wednesday was cornerback Arthur Maulet who inked with the University of Memphis Tigers.