Region 7-2A honors players

Published 10:00 pm Saturday, December 19, 2015

Senior tackle Jerome Johnson was named Region 7-2A 2015 MVP after helping his Bassfield Yellowjackets clinch their fourth straight State Championship in Class 2A.

Amite County’s senior quarterback Quavonte Adams was selected as the Most Valuable Offensive Player of the Year. Prentiss’ junior defensive back Kevin Hall earned the Most Valuable Defensive Players of the Year. Bassfield’s sophomore Maliek Shorts received the Special Team’s Most Valuable Player.

The coaches from the Region 7-2A classification voted on the players selected.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lincoln County was represented in the Region 7-2A honors by Loyd Star, West Lincoln and Enterprise as several players were selected on the 2015 All-District Team.

Loyd Star’s senior offensive lineman Nick Smith was recognized. Junior linebacker Parker Flowers and freshmen return specialist James Beard were selected on the defensive team.

West Lincoln was represented by receiver Chase Owens on offense. Lofton Sills was named as the defensive end.

For Enterprise, Tanner Waldrop was chosen as the cornerback for the All-Region defensive team.

All-Region 7-2A Honors

District MVP-  Jerome Johnson, Bassfield.

Offensive MVP- Quavonte Adams, Amite County.

Defensive MVP- Kevin Hall, Prentiss.

Special Team MVP- Makiek Shorts, Bassfield.

Offensive Team

Quarterback-  Timothy Arnold, Bassfield.

Running Back- Isaiah Gatlin, Prentiss.

Running Back- Lantravious Franklin, Amite Co.

Full Back- Ton Thompson, Bassfield.

Wide Receiver- Tim McNair Jr., Prentiss.

Wide Receiver- Chase Owens, West Lincoln.

Offensive Line-  Josh Hubbard, Bassfield.

Offensive Line-  Nick Smith, Loyd Star.

Offensive Line-  Andrew Smith, Prentiss.

Offensive Line-  Jimmy Anderson, Amite Co.

Offensive Line – Jaylon Hathorne, Bassfield.

Long Snapper – Rashaud Green, Bassfield.

Kicker-  Cade Perrin, Bassfield.

Defensive Team

Defensive End-  Gerald Reese, Bassfield.

Defensive End- Lofton Sills, West Lincoln.

Defensive Tackle – Allen Thigpen, Amite Co.

Defensive Tackle – Antonio Thompson, Bassfield.

Linebacker – Racheem Booth, Bassfield.

Linebacker – Parker Flowers, Loyd Star.

Linebacker –  Kameron Johnson, Prentiss.

Linebacker –  Robert Mitchell, Amite Co.

Safety –  Anthony Walker, Prentiss.

Cornerback –  Tanner Waldrop, Enterprise.

Cornerback –  Darrion Robinson, Amite Co.

Punter –  Lavary Robinson, Amite Co.

Return Specialist –  James Beard, Loyd Star.