• 55°

Wolfpack capture second in MACJC State Tournament

Co-Lin Media / Members of the Mississippi Association of Community/Junior Colleges first team All-State golf team included from left, Mississippi Gulf Coast's Grant Motter, Meridian's Lance Strickland, Meridian's Grant Renegar, Mississippi Gulf Coast's Colin Troxler, Copiah-Lincoln's Philip Heine and East Central's Zack Hammons.

Co-Lin Media / Members of the Mississippi Association of Community/Junior Colleges first team All-State golf team included from left, Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Grant Motter, Meridian’s Lance Strickland, Meridian’s Grant Renegar, Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Colin Troxler, Copiah-Lincoln’s Philip Heine and East Central’s Zack Hammons.

CORINTH – The Co-Lin Wolfpack golf team captured second place in the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) State Golf Championship held at Shiloh Ridge Golf Course in Corinth, Mississippi Friday.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College claimed the title with an even par, two-day 576, 12 shots ahead of the Wolfpack who shot a two-day, 588. The top four schools from the MACJC State Tournament advance to the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region XXIII Tournament to be held at Back Acres Country Club in Senatobia on April 25-26. State champion Mississippi Gulf Coast, state runner-up Copiah-Lincoln, Meridian, East Central, and host Northwest Mississippi will all be in action at Back Acres along with a handful of individuals.

In addition to the top four teams advancing to Region XXIII Tournament along with host Northwest Mississippi, five individuals continued their season based on their yearlong scores and showing at the MACJC State Tournament.

Individually for the Wolfpack, Jason Byrd finished in second place with a two-day total of 143 (73-70), Joseph Dendy 148 (78-70), Phillip Heine 150 (72-78), Cole Arsenault 153 (79-74), and Brandon Blakney 153 (81-72).

Selected to the All-Tournament Team were Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Grant Motter, who shot an 8-under two-day 136, Copiah-Lincoln’s Jason Byrd (143), Meridian’s Lance Strickland (144) and three golfers, who all shot 145s during the two-day event – Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Jonathon Newman, Meridian’s Grant Renegar and East Mississippi’s Schroder.

Copiah-Lincoln’s Philip Heine was selected to MACJC First Team All-State with a 72.45 per round average. Joining Heine were Meridian’s Lance Strickland who was named the Hubert Tucker Player of the Year with a 70.25 per round average, Motter with a 70.83 round average, Renegar 72.08, Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Colin Troxler 72.42, and East Central’s Zack Hammons with a 72.86 average.


Mississippi Gulf Coast 576, Copiah-Lincoln 588, Meridian 592, East Central 614, Northwest Mississippi 618, Itawamba 624, East Mississippi 635, Hinds 646


MS GULF COAST (290-286-576): Grant Motter 68-68-136, Jonathon Newman 71-74-145, Colin Troxler 74-73-147, George Kawell 77-72-149, Phillip Hickam 77-73-150.

COPIAH-LINCOLN (294-294 – 588): Jason Byrd 73-70-143, Joseph Dendy 70-78-148, Phillip Heine 72-78-150, Cole Arsenault 79-74-153, Brandon Blakney 81-72-153.

MERIDIAN (300-292 – 592): Lance Strickland 74-70-144, Grant Renegar 74-71–145, Camden Backel 78-74-152, Clayton Gray 76-77-153, Colby Evans 76-81-157.

EAST CENTRAL (310-304 – 614): Zack Hammons 73-76-149, Tristan Hernandez 75-77-152, Nathan Nance 78-78-156, Kade Matner 84-73-157, Graham Winstead 88-82-170.

NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI (302-316 – 618): Will Mason 77-76-153, Walker Wilkinson 74-80-154, Nic Caligaris 75-80-155, Devon Thomas 76-80-156, Scott Hensley 80-87-167.

ITAWAMBA (310-314 – 624): Kirk Reeder 73-79-152, Jacob Dixon 75-78-153, Andrew McDonald 80-78-158, Braxton West 82-79-161, Will Thompson 89-80-169.

EAST MISSISSIPPI (307-328 – 635): Daniel Schroder 71-74-145, Trae Reeves 76-86-162, Cason Collins 79-84-163, Kent Vaughn 81-84-165, Michael McGill 82-86-168.

HINDS (324-322 – 646): Colby Howard 77-74-151, Ty Mohler 78-85-163, Ausstin Neihaus 83-82-165, Hunter Simrall 86-81-167, Taylor Williamson 96-96-192.

NORTHEAST (n/s): Alex Tull 73-74-147, Ken Waddell 94-96-190.