More candidates join races for office

Published 10:36 pm Friday, January 25, 2019

The list of those seeking state offices continues to grow with some familiar names making a grab for different jobs.

Qualifying started Jan. 2 and the deadline to enter races is March 1. Party primaries are Aug. 6 and the general election is Nov. 5.

Five of the eight statewide offices will not have incumbents running, which means 2019 will be the biggest turnover year for Mississippi’s top political offices in at least a generation.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Gov. Phil Bryant and Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves are both hitting their maximum time of two terms — the only offices with term limits set by law. Bryant is not seeking another office this year, and fellow Republican Reeves is running for that top spot.

Fourth-term Democratic Attorney General Jim Hood announced in October that he is running for governor and has since qualified.

Third-term Republican Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann said months ago that he would seek another office and recently announced he would run for lieutenant governor. As of Tuesday however, his name is not on the qualifying list at the Lincoln County Circuit Clerk’s office.

Second-term Republican state Treasurer Lynn Fitch is running for attorney general.

Agriculture Commissioner Andy Gipson, who was appointed to the job by Bryant last spring after second-term commissioner Cindy Hyde-Smith, a fellow Republican, resigned to become a U.S. senator, has qualified to for a four-year term.

Bryant in 2018 also appointed Republican Shad White to become state auditor when Republican Stacey Pickering, who was in his third term as auditor, resigned to lead the state Veterans Affairs board. White will be seeking a full term.

The following is a list of those qualifying for state and district offices as of Tuesday, according to the Lincoln County Circuit Clerk’s office. Democratic statewide offices will not be released until March 1 per the Democrat Party.

• Governor: Republicans Tate Reeves and Robert Foster

• Lieutenant Governor: Republican Shane Quick

• Secretary of State: Republican Michael Watson

• Treasurer: Republican Eugene S. “Buck” Clarke

• Attorney General: Republicans Lynn Fitch and Mark Baker

• Auditor: Republican Shad White (i)

• Insurance Commissioner: Republican Mike Chaney (i)

• Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce: Republican Andy Gipson (i)

• Transportation Commissioner: Republicans Ricky Pennington Jr., Central District; and Tom King, Southern District, (i)

• Public Service Commissioner: Republicans Brent Bailey, Central District; and Dane Maxwell, Southern District

• State Senate — District 39: Republicans Elizabeth Brown, Josh Davis and Sally Doty (i)

• State House — District 53: Republican Vince Mangold (i)

• State House — District 92: Republican Becky Currie (i)

• District Attorney District 14 (Lincoln, Pike and Walthall counties):  Republican Joe Robert “Joey” Norton IV

Applications for countywide races are available in the circuit clerk’s office and on the county website. It’s $100 to submit qualifying paperwork for Republican or Democratic parties. Those planning to run as independent must pay $100 and also submit a petition containing the signatures of 50 active, registered voters.

Those who have qualified to run for office in Lincoln County by Tuesday are:

• Sheriff: Republican Steve Rushing (i)

• Chancery Clerk: Republicans Quinn Jordan and Alisha McGehee.

• Circuit Clerk: Republican Dustin Bairfield (i)

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Blake Pickering (i)

• Coroner: Republican Clay McMorris (i)

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Jerry L. Wilson (i) and Republican Dwayne Gill

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrat Jonathon Powell and Republicans Jerry McGehee, Virgil Stewart and Don Smith

• District 3 Supervisor: Republican Nolan E. Williamson (i)

• District 4 Supervisor: Republicans Eddie Brown (i) and Jesse Butler

• District 5 Supervisor: Republican Doug Falvey (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Republican Joe Portrey (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Democrats Sam Keys and Valerie Moore and Republicans Mike Campbell and Roger Martin (i)

• Constable Post 1: Republican Kelly Porter (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrat Mary Wilson and Republicans W. Lavon Boyd (i), Krysten Butler and Troy Floyd.