More qualify in Lawrence County

Published 9:00 pm Tuesday, February 12, 2019

With just over two weeks left for qualifying statements of intent to be submitted in Lawrence County for party nominations, the addition of names to the list is beginning to slow.

The Post 2 constable’s race has picked up a bit with three people submitting their paperwork, bringing the total number seeking that spot to four. The incumbent coroner Sandra Lambert will also see at least one challenger seeking to replace her in January.

The District 2 supervisor race is also showing some action with two challengers waiting to see if they’ll be joined by a third.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Party primaries are Aug. 6 and the general election is Nov. 5. The deadline to submit qualifying papers in March 1 at 5 p.m.

The sheriff’s race continues to be the one to watch, said Lawrence County Circuit Clerk James “Sandy” Brister. Six candidates are in the running to be the county’s top lawman.

Democrat Lessie J. Butler, the incumbent, not only faces opposition in his own party with Ray E. Smith, but Republicans Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Kenny Wayne Tanksley and Curtis Lambert are also trying to win Butler’s job. Shelton Jackson has also thrown his hat in the ring, running as an independent.

Those who have qualified to run for office in Lawrence County by Tuesday are:

• Sheriff: Democrats Lessie J. Butler (i) and Ray E. Smith and Republicans Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert and Kenny Wayne Tanksley, and independent Shelton Jackson

• Chancery Clerk: Democrat Kevin Rayborn (i)

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Sherry Hyde Thames (i)

• Coroner: Democrats Sandra Wilson Lambert (i) and John “Dereck” Prestridge

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Steve Garrett (i)

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrats Jason Lea and Billy Showers

• District 3 Supervisor: Democrats Jerry Wayne Smithie (i) and Republicans James E. Howell, Trent Fuller and James Carroll Fuller

• District 4 Supervisor: Democrat Stanley Luther Stephens (i)

• District 5 Supervisor: Democrat Coach Archie Ross (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Democrat Albert Turnage (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Republican Donald G. Mullins (i)

• Constable Post 1: Democrat Clifford Butler (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrats Gregory L. May and Jimmy Rushing and Republicans Royce Jay Renfroe and Chris Wallace

• County attorney: independent Damond Ready

Applications are available in the circuit clerk’s office. It’s $100 to submit qualifying paperwork for Republican or Democratic parties. Those planning to run as independent must pay $100 and also submit a petition containing the signatures of 50 active, registered voters.

Also, if someone chooses to run under a party affiliation not represented in Lawrence County, that individual should also turn in paperwork early enough that the chosen party representative can be contacted.