14 vie for sheriff in three counties

Published 11:44 pm Friday, March 1, 2019

Who will become a county’s top lawman is generally a hot topic around the coffee pot, and in Lincoln, Lawrence and Copiah counties, that will be a much watched campaign.

In Lincoln County, incumbent Sheriff Steve Rushing faces a familiar foe in John Wayne “Johnny” Leggett, who turned in his qualifying papers Friday. And Harold Jones, Copiah County’s incumbent sheriff, will face Byron Swilley.

But the race for sheriff in Lawrence County may be the hottest of them all.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Nine men are trying to unseat the Democrat incumbent, Sheriff Lessie Butler. To hold onto his badge, Butler will first have to beat Democrat Ray Smith before he can go toe-to-toe against Republicans Brad Davis, Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert, John Michael Siler, David Stanley and Kenny Wayne Tanksley, and independents Willie J. Collins Jr. and Shelton Jackson.

For two months, dozens of residents of all three counties have submitted the proper paperwork to signify their intent to run for various offices. The last qualifying papers were accepted in the counties’ circuit clerk offices at close of business Friday.

Election Day for primaries is Aug. 6 with a runoff, if needed, set for Aug. 27. General Election Day is Nov. 5.

Lincoln County

The following is a list of those qualifying for offices in Lincoln County:

• Chancery Clerk: Republicans Quinn Jordan, Alisha McGehee and Pete Moak

• Circuit Clerk: Republican Dustin Bairfield (i)

• Constable Post 1: Republicans Justin Case and Kelly Porter (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrat Mary Wilson and Republicans W. Lavon Boyd (i), Krysten Butler, Kirby Ebbers and Troy Floyd

• Coroner: Republican Clay McMorris (i)

• County surveyor: Republican Joe W. Byrd (i)

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Republicans Kendall Covington, Joe Portrey (i) and Ian Smith

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Democrats Sam Keys and Valerie Moore and Republicans Mike Campbell, Ricky C. Marbury and Roger Martin (i)

• Sheriff: Republican John Wayne “Johnny” Leggett and Steve Rushing (i)

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Blake Pickering (i) and Wendy Mullen Smith

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Jerry L. Wilson (i) and Republican Dwayne Gill

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrat Jonathon Powell and Cynthia Price, Republicans Jerry McGehee, Tim Martin, Don Smith, Virgil Stewart and Toby Williamson and independent Roland Robinson

• District 3 Supervisor: Republican Nolan E. Williamson (i)

• District 4 Supervisor: Republicans C.E. “Eddie” Brown (i), Jesse Butler and Johnny Richardson

• District 5 Supervisor: Republican Doug Falvey (i)

Lawrence County

Those who have qualified to run for office in Lawrence County are:

• Chancery Clerk: Democrat Kevin Rayborn (i)

• Circuit Clerk: Republican James “Sandy” Brister (i)

• Constable Post 1: Democrat Clifford Butler (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrats Gregory L. May and Jimmy Rushing and Republicans Sterling Allen, Royce Jay Renfroe (i) and Chris Wallace

• Coroner: Democrats Sandra Wilson Lambert (i) and John “Dereck” Prestridge and Republican Anthony “Tony” Buchanan Jr.

• County attorney: independent Damond Ready

• County surveyor: Republican Monty E. Sanders

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Independent Albert Turnage (i), who switched from the Democrat party Friday

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Republican Donald G. Mullins (i)

• Sheriff: Democrats Lessie J. Butler (i) and Ray E. Smith and Republicans Brad Davis, Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert, John Michael Siler, David Stanley and Kenny Wayne Tanksley, and independent Willie J. Collins Jr. and Shelton Jackson

• Tax Collector/Assessor: Republican Sherry Hyde Thames (i)

• District 1 Supervisor: Republican Steve Garrett (i), who switched from the Democrat party Friday

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrats Ken Bailey, Jason Lea and Billy Showers, Republican Delane C. Ervin and independent Cedric Alexander

• District 3 Supervisor: Democrats Jerry Wayne Smithie (i) and Republicans Jimmy “Glenn” Ard, James E. Howell, Trent Fuller and James Carroll Fuller

• District 4 Supervisor: Democrat Stanley Luther Stephens (i)

• District 5 Supervisor: Democrat Coach Archie Ross (i) and Republican Ronnie Fortenberry

Copiah County

The following is a list of those qualifying for offices in Copiah County:

• Chancery Clerk: Democrat Steve Amos (i)

• Circuit Clerk: Democrat Edna Edwards Stevens (i)

• Constable Post 1: Democrat Jimmy Dale White (i)

• Constable Post 2: Democrats Chris Granger, Kenneth Wayne Roberts and Larry Smith

• Coroner: Democrat Ellis A. Stuart (i)

• County attorney: Democrat Elise B. Munn

• Justice Court Judge Post 1: Democrats Teresa G. Bozeman (i) and Mona Lisa Carr

• Justice Court Judge Post 2: Democrat Vicki Bass Ramsey (i)

• Sheriff: Democrats Harold L. Jones (i) and Byron Swilley

• Tax Assessor: Democrat Todd Mooney (i)

• Tax Collector: Democrat April S. Holloway (i)

• District 1 Supervisor: Democrat Daryl McMillian Sr. (i) and independent Sue Barlow Johnson

• District 2 Supervisor: Democrat Terry Channell (i)

• District 3 Supervisor: Democrats Perry V. Hood, Kenneth “Hog” Ramsey and Alfred Guy Young III

• District 4 Supervisor: Democrats Kenny Ray Powell and Mose Stovall

• District 5 Supervisor: Democrats Scott Barnes and Dwayne Thompson and independents Judson Jackson and Darren “Big D” Powell


Senate — District 39: Republicans Beth Brown, Josh Davis and Sally Doty (i)

House — District 53: Democrat Rita Wilkinson Goss and Republican Vince Mangold (i)

House — District 92: Becky Currie (i)


District Attorney District 14 (Lincoln, Pike and Walthal counties): Democrat Dee Bates (i) and Republican Joey Norton