Brookhaven School District trustees name new chairwoman

Published 12:11 am Thursday, March 28, 2019

A Brookhaven School District board trustee slid into the chairman’s seat Tuesday and immediately broke the unofficial record for presiding over the shortest meeting.

With the reorganization of the board, which comes each March, Lucy Shell was named chairwoman for the 2019-2020 school year. She is replacing past-chairman Willie “Doc” Harrison, who swapped seats with Shell at the board table and will now enjoy the title of “board member.”

Shell whipped through the two-page agenda — from the school presentation by the Alexander Jr. High choir to the announcement of the next board meeting April 23 —in about 15 minutes. That could be a record, at least for this current board, which also includes Vice Chairman James Tillman, Secretary Erin Smith and board member Robb Massengill.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Twenty-six members of the 56-member AJH choir, “Sounds of Success,” performed a Zulu traditional, “Siyahamba,” at the beginning of the meeting.

Following their performance, trustees voted to accept a consent agenda which included personnel recommendations, donations, grants and fundraisers for various organizations and out-of-state travel for the Brookhaven High School Band to travel to Washington, D.C. during spring 2020 to perform at the Navy Memorial.