• 70°

9 want to wear Lawrence County sheriff’s badge

Nine men — two Democrats, five Republicans and two independents — want to wear the sheriff’s badge in Lawrence County.

A winner for the Democratic party will be decided Tuesday as voters choose between incumbent Lessie J. Butler and Ray E. Smith.

The Republican vote split between five choices will likely cause a runoff, which will be Aug. 27. Running on the Republican ticket are Brad Davis, Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Curtis Lambert, John Michael Siler and David Stanley.

The two independent candidates — Willie J. Collins Jr. and Shelton Jackson — will be on the ballots in the general election Nov. 5 and will face the Democrat and Republican candidates.

Kenny Wayne Tanksley qualified Jan. 11 to run for sheriff as a Republican, but died March 7 at Lawrence County Hospital in Monticello. Tanksley retired from the Mississippi Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, where he served as a conservation officer for more than 30 years.

Lawrence County’s 24 precincts will open Tuesday at 7 a.m. Voters can cast a ballot for statewide district, legislative, county and county district offices. Any voter in line at 7 p.m. is entitled to cast a ballot.

The Lawrence County Circuit Clerk’s office is open Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon for in-person absentee voting. The deadline to vote by mail is Monday and circuit clerk’s offices must be in actual receipt of the absentee mail-in ballot by 5 p.m.

To see a sample ballot or for a map of polling places, visit the circuit clerk’s office at 517 E. Broad St. in Monticello. For more information, call 601-587-4791.

Voters are required to show photo identification at the polls.  A voter without an acceptable form of photo identification is entitled to cast an affidavit ballot.  An affidavit ballot may be counted if the voter provides an acceptable form of photo identification the circuit clerk’s office within five business days after the election.

Several seats are unopposed. Those who will not face opponents in either the primary or the general elections are Chancery Clerk Kevin Rayborn (Democrat), Circuit Clerk James “Sandy” Brister (Republican), Constable Post 1 Clifford Butler (Democrat), County Surveyor Monty E. Sanders (Republican), Justice Court Judge 1 Albert Turnage (Independent), Justice Court Judge 2 Donald G. Mullins (Republican), Tax Assessor/Collector Sherry Hyde Thames (Republican), District 1 Steve M. Garrett (Republican) and District 4 Supervisor Stanley Luther Stephens, (Democrat).

Others who will be on the ballots for their primaries are:

Constable 2

• Sterling Allen, Republican

• Incumbent Royce Jay Renfroe, Republican

• Chris Wallace, Republican

• Jimmy Rushing, Democrat

• Gregory L. May, Democrat


• Anthony “Tony” Buchanan Jr., Republican

• Incumbent Sandra Wilson Lambert, Democrat

• John “Dereck” Prestridge, Democrat


• Incumbent Lessie J. Butler, Democrat

• Ray E. Smith, Democrat

• Brad Davis, Republican

• Ryan “Hoss” Everett, Republican

• Curtis Lambert, Republican

• John Michael Siler, Republican

• David Stanley, Republican

• Primary winners will face independents Willie J. Collins Jr. and Shelton Jackson Nov. 5.

Supervisor 2

• Ken Bailey, Democratic

• Jason Lea, Democratic

• Billy Showers, Democratic

• Delane C. Ervin, Republican

• Primary winners will face independent Cedric Alexander Nov. 5.

Supervisor 3

• Incumbent Jerry Wayne Smithie, Democrat

• Jimmy Glenn Ard, Republican

• James Carroll Fuller, Republican

• Trent Fuller, Republican

• James E. Howell, Republican

Supervisor 5

• Incumbent Coach Archie Ross, Democrat

• Ronnie Fortenberry, Republican