• 81°

GOP runoff will decide chancery clerk race

Lincoln County’s circuit clerk estimates only half of the 11,000 voters who cast their ballots at the Aug. 6 primary will return to the polls today for the run-off elections.

That means about 5,500 of the county’s nearly 21,000 voters will go to the polls today, according to Circuit Clerk Dustin Bairfield’s estimate.

Only those who voted Republican in the Aug. 6 primary election and those who didn’t vote at all are allowed to vote today in the runoff. All ballots will include at least three races:

• Chancery Clerk: Alisha McGehee and Pete Moak

• Attorney General: Lynn Fitch and Andy Taggart

• Governor: Tate Reeves and Bill Waller Jr.

Some races will be on the certain ballots only, depending on the location:

• District 2 Supervisor: Jerry McGehee and Don Smith.

• Post 1 Justice Court Judge: incumbent Joe Portrey and Ian Smith.

• Post 2 Constable: incumbent W. Lavon Boyd and Troy Floyd

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Those who voted Democrat Aug. 6 won’t be allowed to cast a vote today in the runoff, Bairfield said. Poll workers will check the books before issuing ballots.

Only the Republican party has primary elections today in Lincoln County. The Democratic candidates have been decided and will face challengers from the Republican party as well as independent candidates.

Cross-over voting has long been prohibited in Mississippi and in 2016, lawmakers passed legislation making cross-over voting a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and up to a $500 fine.

In the Nov. 5 general elections, voters do not have to declare any party affiliation.