USDA designates Copiah County as primary natural disaster area

Published 2:53 pm Wednesday, April 15, 2020

The United States Department of Agriculture has designated Copiah County as the only county in Mississippi to be named primary natural disaster area from storms and flooding Feb. 10 through 17.

Producers in the county who suffered physical damage and losses caused by the excessive rains and flooding in this time period may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs, including the replacement of essential equipment, livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lincoln County and Lawrence County producers are eligible to apply, as well. Producers in Claiborne, Hinds, Jefferson, Rankin and Simpson can also apply for emergency loans.

Deadline to apply is Dec. 9.

FSA will review loans based on extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Farmers can contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures. Additional information is also available at