New order mandates isolation for positive COVID-19 cases
Tuesday afternoon, State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Dobbs issued a statewide order for the isolation of anyone diagnosed with a current case of COVID-19, effective immediately. Anyone diagnosed must immediately isolate at home.
“We have a lot of COVID activity throughout the state right now,” said Dobbs, “so it is absolutely critical than anyone infected with COVID-19, and not hospitalized, must remain in the home or other appropriate residential location for 14 days from onset of illness, or from the date of a positive test for those who are asymptomatic.”
Failure or refusal to obey the lawful order of a health officer is, at a minimum, a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $500 or imprisonment for six months, or both. If a life-threatening disease is involved, failure or refusal is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 or five years imprisonment, or both.
Twenty-six new cases of COVID-19 were reported in Lincoln County since Friday, for a total of 756. Two of the deaths reported during that period came from Lincoln County. The number of deaths in Lincoln County now totals 41.
The Mississippi State Department of Health reported 1,074 COVID-19 cases Tuesday and 42 new deaths.
The statewide totals now stand as 62,199 cases of COVID-19 and 1,753 deaths since the state began tracking the virus on March 11. Numbers are from cases reported to MSDH as of 6 p.m. Sunday.
MSDH presumes 42,391 people have recovered from the virus.
For guidance on preventing transmission of the virus within the home, visit www.cdc.gov/coronavirus.
The Mississippi State Department of Health reported 572 COVID-19 cases Monday and eight new deaths. Sunday, MSDH reported 672 new... read more