• 52°

Governor announces additional COVID measures

Gov. Tate Reeves announced additional COVID-19 measures Tuesday in what he called an effort to keep Mississippians safe during this holiday season.

The Executive Orders that are in place are set to expire Friday, Jan. 15.

The following counties have been under county wide mask mandates after meeting the certain requirements in relation to COVID-19:
Adams, Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, De Soto, Forrest, Franklin, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Stone, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Washington, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo Counties.

These counties added Tuesday have also met the specific criteria to be placed under a mask mandate:
Benton, George, Greene, Hancock, Humphreys, Jasper, Leake, Newton, Pike, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Wilkinson Counties.

As of now, 78 of Mississippi’s 82 counties are under mask mandates.

The only counties not currently under mask mandates are Claiborne, Issaquena, Sharkey and Tunica.

“We all need to be extra aware. You know what to do! Protect yourself and your family. Stay safe, and Merry Christmas,” Reeves said.
A copy of the Executive order can be found here.