Brookhaven Municipal Election results

Published 7:40 pm Tuesday, June 8, 2021

The mayor’s race was almost too close to call.

At 8:45 p.m. Tuesday, incumbent Brookhaven Mayor Joe Cox had 1,476 votes to challenger Larry Jointer’s 1,456 — a difference of only 20 votes. Seventeen votes were still out — 16 mail-in absentee votes and one affidavit vote still needing verification.

“It was a great run. I did my best,” Jointer said. “I tried to reach every door, tried to reach every person. I was honest in what I said and very transparent. That’s what we need in our city.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Jointer also said he would not contest the vote, but work for unity in Brookhaven.

“We need to be united in our city, and some areas of the city need to be brought up to standard,” he said. “Best of luck to Mayor Cox.”

“I would like to express my gratitude to the citizens of Brookhaven for electing me to serve a third term,” Cox said. “I remain humbled by your support and honored to represent my hometown.”

“I look forward to working in union with our new Board of Aldermen in bringing viable solutions to the place we call home,” he said, “and continuing to move Brookhaven forward for all residents.”

Police Chief Kenneth Collins kept his leadership role with 76% of the vote over challenger Mike Milholen.

“I want to thank the citizens of Brookhaven for believing in me,” Collins said. “We’re going to continue to keep everybody safe because we are all God’s children. Thank you to everyone and their families.”


Polls closed at 7 p.m. today, Tuesday, June 8, 2021.

This post will be updated as results are received. These are machine totals only. 

Totals are unofficial and uncertified until certified in the office of the Secretary of State.

Wards will begin reporting AFTER polls have officially closed.

Wards reporting: ALL



Joe C. Cox (R), incumbent — 1476 (50.19%)

Larry Jointer (D) — 1456 (49.51%)

Write-ins — 9 (0.31%)


Chief of Police

Kenneth Collins (D), incumbent — 2217 (76.08%)

Mike Milholen (R) — 686 (23.54%)

Write-ins — 11 (0.38%)



Marilyn Dow-Harris (D) — 1447 (49.71%)

Don Underwood (R) — 1459 (50.12%)

Write-ins — 5 (0.17%)

Ward 1 Alderman

James Magee Jr. (D) — 384 (97.46%)

Write-ins — 10 (2.54%)

Ward 2 Alderman

Shannon Moore (D), incumbent — 311 (98.42%)

Write-ins — 5 (1.58%)

Ward 3 Alderman

Charles J. Caston Sr. (D) — 400 (77.67%)

Troy Douglas (R) — 112 (21.75%)

Write-ins — 3 (0.58%)

Ward 4 Alderman

Jeff Henning (R) — 820 (98.2%)

Write-ins — 15 (1.8%)

Ward 5 Alderman

Fletcher Grice (R) — 334 (98.82%)

Write-ins — 4 (1.18%)

Ward 6 Alderman

Shelley Harrigill (R), incumbent — 176 (39.91%)

Andre’ Spiller (D) — 265 (60.09%)

Write-ins — 0 (0.00%)

Photo submitted / Mayor Joe Cox and his daughter Claire Strong pose with the front page of The Daily Leader when Cox was reelected in 2017.