Today is Municipal Election Day

Published 10:26 am Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Polling places are open until 7 p.m. today for registered voters to cast ballots in the 2021 Brookhaven Municipal Election.

Democrat, Republican and Independent candidates are on the ballot.

Though their names will appear on the final ballot, some roles have already been decided, due to wins in either the Primary Election or Primary Runoff Election, or due to lack of opposition in the race.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Republican Ward 5 alderman Fletcher Grice kept his seat without a fight, entering the primary unopposed.

Democrat Ward 2 alderman Shannon Moore kept his seat after winning against a party challenger in the primary.

The alderman seat for Ward 1 — vacated by retiring alderman Dorsey Cameron — was won by Democrat James Magee Jr. in the primary runoff.

Republican Jeff Henning won the primary runoff for Ward 4 alderman, replacing current alderman Jason Snider, who declined to run for reelection.

These will all be on the general ballot, but will be unopposed.

What’s yet to be determined

The Ward 3 and At-Large alderman seats came open for election when current board members Mary Wilson and Karen Sullivan announced their retirements.

In Ward 3, Democrat Charles J. Caston Sr. emerged as his party’s choice in the primary runoff and will face Republican Troy Douglas for the seat.

In the At-Large race, Democrat Marilyn Dow-Harris faces Republican Don Underwood. Both came through the primaries without party opposition.

Shelley Harrigill is the current Ward 6 alderwoman. An Independent, she was not on a primary ballot, but will face Andre’ Spiller Tuesday, the winner of the Democrat primary runoff.

In the race for chief of police, incumbent Democrat Kenneth Collins won his party’s primary and will face Republican challenger Mike Milholen in the general election.

In the mayor’s office, incumbent Republican Joe C. Cox faced no opposition in the primary and will be on the general ballot opposite Democrat Larry Jointer, who won his party’s primary.

Voting locations

Voters in Ward 1 will cast ballots at the Bi-Centennial Building, 200 Main St.

Ward 2 voters will cast their ballots at Alexander Jr. High School auditorium, 713 Beauregard St.

Residents of Ward 3 will vote at the Lincoln County Government Complex, 301 South First St., in the City Board Room.

Ward 4 voters will cast ballots in the Brookhaven Elementary School auditorium, 300 South Church St.

Voters who live in Ward 5 will make their voices heard in the main room of the Brookhaven Recreation Department, 689 Hwy. 51 N.

Voters living in Ward 6 will cast ballots at Mamie Martin School, in room A-1, 420 Vivian Merritt St.