Brookhaven doctor chosen for Jones Hall of Fame

Published 12:00 pm Sunday, September 12, 2021

Dr. Mark Barron of Brookhaven has been inducted into the Jones College Sports Hall of Fame.

Barron and former tennis and soccer coach Mark Easley were inducted in a ceremony Thursday during halftime at the Jones vs. Northwest Mississippi football game.

Barron played football and baseball and was a member of the 2001 MACJC championship football team.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

There are now 54 members in the Jones College Sports Hall of Fame.

Barron is a 1999 graduate of West Jones High School.

While at West Jones, he was a letterman in three sports – basketball, baseball and football. He was a member of numerous academic clubs, earning All-District honors in football and was voted “Most Athletic” his senior year. He helped lead his team to the playoffs twice in football, twice in baseball and once in basketball during his high school career. He graduated fifth in his class at West Jones

Barron then signed to play football at Jones County Junior College under Coach Parker Dykes.

While at Jones, he absorbed a knee injury which caused him to miss his freshman year of football. In the spring of 2000, he would pitch for the Jones baseball team.

He would later play two additional years on the football team as an offensive tackle helping lead the Bobcats to the MACJC championship in 2001. He also participated in the MACJC North-South All-Star game in 2001. He received the Bobcat Award for football after the 2001 season.

Upon leaving Jones, he went to Delta State University to continue his football career. During his senior season at Delta State, he helped lead the team to a 9-2 record as well as earning All-American honors.

At this time, he applied and was accepted to the University of Mississippi Medical Center to attend medical school. He graduated medical school in 2008 and was accepted for an orthopedic surgery residency at the University of Kentucky. During his time in residency he earned “Resident of the Year” honors.

He graduated from orthopedic residency in 2013 and then went on to complete a spine surgery fellowship at the University of Missouri in 2014. Upon completion of his training he returned to Mississippi where he started a practice in orthopedic/spinal surgery in Brookhaven.

Barron is now a board-certified orthopedic surgeon in his seventh year of practice. He is affiliated with King’s Daughters Medical Center in Brookhaven.

Helping him along the way are his parents, Fred and Neita Barron, his fiancé Laura Ashley Logan, sister Terri Furr, and brother Christopher Barron.


Class of 2007

Sim Cooley

Joe Flowers

A.B. Howard

Class of 2008

Randall Boone

John Perkins

Gene Tullos

Class of 2009

Gwen Magee

L. D. Ready

Jerry “Sally” Smith

Aubrey Wade

Patricia Waldrup

Class of 2010

Mike McClellan

Carlos McDaniel

Dr. Joe-Michael Robertson

Class of 2011

Dale Crowder

Wilmer Dennis

Parker Dykes

Elmer Higginbotham

Ken Schulte

Class of 2012

Dr. Sam Bounds

Hill Denson

Wendy Hogue

Dr. Amy Parker

Hannon Strickland

Class of 2013

Chauncey Davis

George Harrison

Jackie Parker

Class of 2014

Deion Branch

Billy King

James Logan

Robert L. Sorey

Larry Suchy

Class of 2015

Linda Darty

Kevin Jackson

Tommy Parker

Don Pennington

Mike “Skeeter” Robertson

Class of 2016

David Hopper

Ray Ishee

Cecil “Boots” Jordan

Rebecca Ratcliff Patrick

Class of 2017

Bill Barry

Dr. Gene Lasley

Misty M. Moore

Sandra Sumrall

Class of 2018

Joey Davis

McArthur Hamburg

Dr. H. Greggory Jefcoat

Class of 2019

Jay L. Ladner

Christian Ostrander

Daryl L.Terrell

Class of 2020

Katie Eaton Herrington

Class of 2021

Dr. Mark Barron

Mark Easley