Wesson hosts Dixie AA North Subdistrict action

Published 5:00 am Thursday, June 21, 2001

WESSON – The Dixie Youth AA North Subdistrict Tournament startsThursday at Jimmie Hodges Field. The double-elimination tournamentfeatures eight teams: Wesson, Brookhaven American, BrookhavenNational, Claiborne County, Hazlehurst, Crystal Springs, theNatchez Confederates and the Natchez Rebels.

Two fields will be used in the tournament. Tonight’s 6 p.m.action sends the Brookhaven Nationals against the NatchezConfederates on Field Two and the Brookhaven Americans againstClaiborne County on Field One. Wesson tackles the Natchez Rebels onField One and Hazlehurst plays Crystal Springs on Field Two in the8 o’clock games.

Tournament play continues Friday and Saturday on both fields.Finals are scheduled for Monday night. The top two teams advance toSummit’s Windsor Gay Sports Complex next week to meet the Southchampion and runner-up.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Brookhaven’s National League All-Stars include Tyler Case, JakeShelby, Logan Cantrell, Chandler Rogers, Cody White, Garrett Greer,Will Lucas, Dustin Treadway, Cameron Barry, Scottie Peavey, JoelPatrick, Dudley Lampton and Alan Michael Allred. Coaching the teamare Allen Kent, Todd Peavey, Lee Barry and Jimmy White.

Brookhaven’s American League All-Stars are Christian Keene,Travis Keene, Myles Melancon, Austin Brister, Mark Rushing, DanielPepper, Tyler Coker, Danny Ford, Dillon Newell, Grant Burke, GabeWilson, Anthony Durr and Hunter Franklin. Coaches are Butch Keene,Mark Wilson, Glenn Miller and Anthony Melancon.

Dixie Youth Baseball AA


Tournament at Wesson


6 p.m., Field One, Brookhaven Americans vs. ClaiborneCounty; Field Two, Brookhaven Nationals vs. NatchezConfederates.

8 p.m., Field One, Wesson vs. Natchez Rebels; Field Two,Hazlehurst vs. Crystal Springs.


6 p.m., Field One, Wesson-Natchez Rebels loser vs.Brookhaven Nationals-Natchez Confederates loser. Field Two,Brookhaven Americans-Claiborne County loser vs. Hazlehurst-CrystalSprings loser.

8 p.m., Field One, Wesson-Natchez Rebels winner vs.Brookhaven Nationals-Natchez Confederates winner. Field Two,Brookhaven Americans-Claiborne County winner vs. Hazlehurst-CrystalSprings winner.