Wesson Chamber seeks good citizens nominations

Published 5:00 am Wednesday, September 26, 2001

WESSON — Nominations are now being accepted for the Chamber ofCommerce’s annual Good Citizen Award and Educator Awards.

The prestigious awards are presented every year at the Chamberof Commerce banquet after the residents of Wesson send innominations and a committee makes the final selections.

“These awards will be given that night, and they are kept asecret from the public until then,” said Chamber of CommerceSecretary/Treasurer Joy Wesbrooks.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The banquet has been set for Dec. 4 at the Thames ConferenceCenter.

The Good Citizen of the Year award is presented to a person ofhigh moral standards and integrity who has made an “outstanding”impact on Wesson and the surrounding community, said Wesbrooks.

“It’s real important to select someone who has contributed a lotto the community and has Wesson in their best interest,” sheadded.

Previous recipients include Kenneth Furr, Dr. Billy B. Thames,Hollis Cowen Sr., Nena Smith, Freddie Stegall, Dr. Burton Friedman,Bradley Smith, Lura Greer and Wesbrooks.

The Outstanding Educator of the Year award is given to aninstructor from Wesson Attendance Center and one fromCopiah-Lincoln Community College.

The instructors must be full-time with at least 10 years serviceat the local schools. Instructors nominated must have demonstratedleadership in the classroom, extra-curricular school activities andin the community, as well as dependability, enthusiasm, goodcommunication skills and an interest in Wesson.

Other criteria that should be listed on the nomination formincludes any degrees or other awards the instructors received.

Last year’s outstanding educators were Pat McCreary from WessonAttendance Center, and Rhonda Posey an instructor at Co-Lin.

Nomination forms for outstanding educator of the year and goodcitizen can be obtained by calling Joy Wesbrooks at 643-8316.

A letter must also accompany the nomination form. The lettershould consist of a brief account of the person’s accomplishmentsand qualities, giving specific examples where possible.

All nominations should be sent to Wesson Chamber of Commerce,P.O. Box 557, Wesson, MS 39191 by Oct. 14.