Enterprise’s Vaughn region MVP on defense

Published 6:00 am Wednesday, November 28, 2001

Enterprise linebacker Shermaine Vaughn has been selected MostValuable Defensive Player on the 2001 All-Region 4-1A FootballTeam. Vaughn is a senior who helped lead Enterprise to the stateplayoffs, making 140 tackles along the way and rushing for over1,300 yards as a tailback.

Wingback/linebacker Joey Sullivan of region champion Mize waschosen the region’s Overall MVP by region coaches. Tailback DerrickMcGowan of Dexter was named Most Valuable Offensive Player. Mizewon Coaching Staff of the Year.

Region runner-up Bogue Chitto landed five players on theAll-Region First Team. The quintet included tailback DomenickAddison, linebacker John Wallace, wide receiver Cody Wallace,offensive tackle Ernie Johnston and tailback Denard Ferguson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Enterprise claimed two First Team players in fullback BobbySmith and wingback Monti Crotwell. West Lincoln landed tailbackStacy Fells on the First Team.

Second Team recognition went to Bogue Chitto quarterback JacobLeggett and strong safety Fred Smith. Enterprise is represented byChase Raiford and Dale Holmes. Representing West Lincoln are CodyMitchell and Clint Smith.

@Bbstandings:All-Region 4-1A Football Team


Bogue Chitto: Domenick Addison, John Wallace, CodyWallace, Ernie Johnston, Denard Ferguson.

Enterprise: Bobby Smith, Monti Crotwell, RufusAllen, Pierre Harthorne.

Mize: Curtis Keys, Stevie Hand, Tem Magee, JasperAdcock, Jason Ducksworth.

Mt. Olive: Justin Starling, Marrell McNair.

St. Aloysius: Michael Strickland, Aaron George, JustinWilliams.

Cathedral: Daniel Wisner, Donyofi Jackson.,

West Lincoln: Stacy Fells.

Dexter: Tory Crumedy, Robin Gamble, Nick Cotton, JamesCarter.

All-Region Kicker: Byron Zerby, Cathedral.

All-Region Punter: Jay Johnson, Mize.


Bogue Chitto: Jacob Leggett, Fred Smith.

Enterprise: Chase Raiford, Dale Holmes.

West Lincoln: Clint Smith, Cody Mitchell.

Mize: Robin Robinson, Brian Wallace.

Mt. Olive: Chris Harrison, Bobby Dennis.

St. Aloysius: Michael Engle, HildonSessums.

Dexter: Rondell Crumedy, James Singletary.


Bogue Chitto: Ace Wallace, Lindsey Jackson, Paul Martin,Vinnie Barksdale.

West Lincoln: Lakieth Terrell, Richard Green, ChrisHerring.