Co-Lin sets formal policy for its high school students

Published 5:00 am Friday, June 7, 2002

WESSON — To address an increasing demand from high schoolstudents wanting to take college courses, the Copiah-LincolnCommunity College Board of Trustees Thursday adopted a formal DualEnrollment Policy to accommodate students’ desires.

Natalie Davis, Co-Lin director of public information, said thepolicy modifies and incorporates previous rules governing the dualenrollment classes that Co-Lin has offered for several years.

“This is a little more specific,” Davis said. “There have beenrequirements for dual enrollment, but there’s not been a setpolicy.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

To be eligible for dual enrollment, high school students musthave completed a minimum of 14 Carnegie Units and have a minimumgrade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Students must also havean unconditional letter of recommendation from their high schoolprincipal or guidance counselor.

One change Davis mentioned regarded ACT scores. The policyrequires a minimum score of 16 on the ACT or SAT equivalent,whereas the previous minimum score was 21.

The policy says high school students must also meet specificadmission criteria to Co-Lin classes.

Regarding fees, students taking dual enrollment courses on theirhigh school campuses will be exempt from tuition. However, studentstaking courses on the Co-Lin campus will be subject to the normalfee schedule.

Credits earned in the dual enrollment program are held untilstudents obtain regular admission status at a college oruniversity. High school dual enrollment students are under noobligation to attend Co-Lin after graduation.

“High school kids in the upper levels are wanting to go aheadand start their college careers,” Davis said about programpopularity.

Davis said the dual enrollment policy is part of Co-Lin’sDistance Learning efforts. She credited director Margaret Britt’sefforts in developing the Distance Learning Program.

In other business Thursday, executive committee officers andmembers were named.

Chairman Eugene Bates, Vice-Chairman Roy Winkworth and SecretaryTommy Sasser were re-elected to their respective positions. Otherexecutive committee members reappointed included Melton King, Dr.Steve Wells, Kenneth Bailey and Mildred Maxine Williams.

New committee members named Thursday included Penny McAlpin ofMagee and Barry Dillard of Meadville. The new appointments bringthe committee up to full membership and fill some vacancies thatwere created following recent board activity, Davis said.

The official board meeting actually did not begin aftermidnight, Davis said.

Trustees had been in a personnel-related appeal hearing since 1p.m. Thursday. The board concluded its regular meeting with anexecutive session for personnel reasons, but school officials didnot elaborate on the nature of the matter.