Wesson Chamber seeking citizen, teacher nominations

Published 5:00 am Friday, October 25, 2002

WESSON — Nominations are now being accepted for the Chamber ofCommerce’s annual Good Citizen Award and Educator Awards.

The awards are presented every year at the Chamber of Commercebanquet based on nominations from residents and selected by acommittee. Nominations for the awards are due in by Oct. 30.

The Good Citizen Award is presented to a person of high moralstandards and integrity who has made an “outstanding” impact onWesson and the surrounding community.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“It is a prestigious award given to outstanding leaders,” saidChamber of Commerce Secretary/Treasurer Joy Wesbrooks.

Previous recipients include Kenneth Furr, Dr. Billy B. Thames,Hollis Cowen Sr., Nena Smith, Freddie Stegall, Dr. Burton Friedman,Bradley Smith, Lura Greer, Joy Wesbrooks and Alton Ricks.

“They’re committed to the community, and they all haveparticipated in civic, church and community activities,” saidWesbrooks. “They give of their time and talents throughout the yearas volunteers.”

Wesbrooks added that the award always goes to someone who can beseen helping in many different areas of the community.

The Outstanding Educator Award is given to one instructor fromWesson Attendance Center and one from Copiah-Lincoln CommunityCollege.

The instructors must be full-time with at least 10 years serviceat the local schools. Instructors nominated must have demonstratedleadership in the classroom, extra-curricular school activities andin the community, as well as dependability, enthusiasm, goodcommunication skills and an interest in Wesson.

Further criteria that should be listed on the nomination formincludes any degrees or other awards the instructors received.

Previous outstanding educators are Lloyd Brewer, JohnnyWilliams, Pat McCreary, Rhonda Posey, Phillip Knight and JimLightsey.

Nomination forms for outstanding educator awards and the goodcitizen award can be obtained by calling Joy Wesbrooks at643-8316.

A letter must also accompany the nomination form. The lettershould consist of a brief account of the person’s accomplishmentsand qualities, giving specific examples where possible.

All nominations should be sent to Wesson Chamber of Commerce,P.O. Box 557, Wesson, MS 39191.

The award winners will be kept a secret until the night of thebanquet. The banquet has been set for Dec. 3, at the ThamesConference Center, with special guest speaker Lt. Gov. AmyTuck.