South Pike linebacker leads All-Region team

Published 6:00 am Thursday, December 5, 2002

South Pike senior linebacker Joe Taylor has been named the MostValuable Player on the 2002 All-Region 6-4A Football Team. Taylorwas instrumental in leading the Eagles to a second consecutiveregion championship. He was one of nine Eagles named to the FirstTeam.

Brookhaven, a 2-0 upset winner over South Pike in the secondround of the state playoffs, finished third in the region andplaced seven players on the All-Region squad. They included seniorlinebackers Lakendrick Maxwell and Belma Cager, senior safety JoshCrawford, senior punter/placekicker Domenick DiPaolo, andsophomores Jimmy Johns at quarterback, Jesse Bowman at defensivetackle and wide receiver Bud Chapman.

Receiving honorable mention recognition for Brookhaven wereguards Kenneth Fairman and Adam Ogden, center Grant McDonnieal,defensive ends Julius Lloyd and Phillip Tobias, running back DariusPerkins, safety Emmanuel Perkins and split end KendellNickelson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lawrence County, the fourth place team in the region, had fiveFirst Team selections in seniors Cory Rogers, Johnathan Smith andKevin Wallace and juniors Davis Ball and Phillip Kimble.

All-Region 6-4A Football Team

Brookhaven: Belma Cager, Bud Chapman, Josh Crawford, LakendrickMaxwell, Domenick DiPaolo, Jesse Bowman, Jimmy Johns. HonorableMention: Kenneth Fairman, Julius Lloyd, Grant McDonnieal, KendellNickelson, Adam Ogden, Emmanuel Perkins, Darius Perkins, PhillipTobias.

South Pike: Joe Taylor, Jessie Burton, Sedric Elzie, Fred Jones,Jerrel Magee, Daniel Montgomery, Dewayne Pittman, Chad Taylor, RyanTaylor. Honorable Mention: Bobby Barnes, Garrick Burton, RandyCarter, Michael Cockerham, James Davis, Jamtoya Martin, LarryTaylor.

McComb: Timothy Collins, Jarrod Dyson, George Lewis, RoderickLewis, Craig Nunnery, Eltric Spear, Jonathan Smith. HonorableMention: Travis Collins, DeJuan Coney, Parnell Green, MichaelLewis, Irvin Pittman, John Thompson.

Lawrence County: Davis Ball, Phillip Kimble, Cory Rogers,Johnathan Smith, Kevin Wallace. Honorable Mention: Randy Ferdinand,Dexter Haynes, Joe Magee, Casey Williams.

Port Gibson: Carl Jones, Jamaal Martin, Kevin Noble, DeiratonTurner. Honorable Mention: Chris Chambliss, Melvin Ellis, JamesFarmer, Jeremy Yates.

Raymond: Antoine Clay, Carleton White. Honorable Mention:Jeffery Ellis, Josh Neal, Katlin Odems.

Terry: Alfred Taylor. Honorable Mention: Kenny Brown, JessShelby, Preston Walker, Shawn Walters, William Hollins.