22 sign up for Lincoln Co. offices

Published 6:00 am Friday, January 3, 2003

Incumbents dominated the first day of candidate qualifying forcounty office elections, but Thursday’s activity began to set thestage for some interesting contests later this year.

In all, 22 people Thursday put their names on the Lincoln Countyoffice party primary ballot. That was a little less than in 1999,said Lincoln County Circuit Clerk Terry Lynn Watkins.

“Four years ago, we had 26 to qualify on the first day,” Watkinssaid.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Watkins said there was flurry of qualifying when her officeopened shortly before 8 a.m.

“That was our busiest time,” she said. “By 8:30, 14 people hadqualified.”

In countywide race qualifying, incumbent Post 1 Constable WileyCalcote tossed his hat in the ring to run against Sheriff LynnBoyte. Calcote is completing his third term as constable whileBoyte is seeking a fifth term in the county’s top law enforcementposition.

Klareenca (Kris) Hutcherson, of 648 Highway 583, also qualifiedto run for sheriff. She is the only Republican candidate so far inany of the county races.

Calcote’s decision leaves the Post 1 Constable position up forgrabs. Donald R. (Don) Smith, of 2153 New Sight Dr., was the onlycandidate to sign up Thursday to seek that office.

In the county superintendent of education race, Jason R. Case,the school district’s prevention-intervention program director,qualified against incumbent Perry Miller. Miller qualified to seeka second term in that office.

Also Thursday, Brookhaven Ward 1 Alderman Dorsey Cameron Jr. andAlex H. Robinson Jr., of 986 Dillon Trail, qualified in the racefor District 1 Supervisor.

Vedia Givens was appointed to the office following the death ofher husband and long-time District 1 Supervisor Cliff Givens lastyear. She has not indicated any plans to run for election thisyear.

In other supervisor race qualifying, Clarence Edwards, of 1814Brignal Road, and Johnny Warren Womack, of 2289 New Sight Dr.,signed up to face incumbent District 2 Supervisor Bobby J. Watts.Watts, like other current board members, is seeking a second termas supervisor.

Douglas Falvey, 1623 Falvey Road, qualified later Thursday tochallenge incumbent Gary Walker in District 5. Incumbent District 3Supervisor Nolan Earl Williamson and incumbent District 4Supervisor W.D. “Doug” Moak qualified for re-election Thursday butso far do not have any opponents for their respective offices.

Several other incumbent county office-holders qualifiedThursday. They include:

* Chancery Clerk Tillmon Bishop

* Circuit Clerk Terry Lynn (Case) Watkins

* Tax Assessor-Collector Nancy Reeves Jordan

* Coroner Clay McMorris

* Post One Justice Court Judge Judy Case Martin

* Post Two Justice Court Judge B.J. Price

* Post Two Constable W. Lavon Boyd

No other candidates qualified for those offices. Also, no onehas qualified for the unpaid office of county surveyor.

Voters this year will also making their legislative officechoices for House District 92 Representative, House District 53Representative and Senate District 39, and 14th Circuit CourtDistrict District Attorney. Candidates for those offices qualify atstate party headquarters.

A spokesman for the state Democratic Party said candidates’names would not be released until candidates are certified afterMarch 1. A state Republican Party spokesman said there are noqualifiers in those races so far.

The qualifying deadline is Feb. 28.

The first party primaries are scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 5.Party primary runoffs, where necessary, will be held Tuesday, Aug.26.

Party primary winners will go on to face each other in thegeneral election on Tuesday, Nov. 4.