Former senator, others qualify in elections

Published 6:00 am Monday, January 27, 2003

A handful of candidates, including a former state senatorlooking to return to his old office, signed up to run in thisyear’s elections, according to records at the Lincoln CountyCircuit Clerk’s Office and state party headquarters.

W.L. Rayborn qualified last week in the Democratic Party primaryto face incumbent Dist. 39 Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith. After losing toHyde-Smith in 1999, the long-time former senator is trying toreclaim his old office in a new district that now includes aportion of Simpson County in addition to Lincoln and Lawrencecounties.

Rayborn was the only qualifier last week for area legislativeoffices.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In Lincoln County races, a slow pace continued as fivecandidates joined races and one candidate withdrew from hiscontest. The qualifying deadline is March 1.

“It’s really been kind of average,” Lincoln County Circuit ClerkTerry Lynn Watkins said about qualifying so far.

The 2003 elections gained their first independent candidate lastweek as Lincoln County jailer James Williams Jr., of 127 Clara St.,signed up to run for sheriff.

Other candidates in that race include Democrats incumbent LynnBoyte, Post 1 Constable Wiley Calcote, Robert Berry and Don Evansand Republican Klareenca (Kris) Hutcherson.

Also last week, Brookhaven firefighter Andrew Graham, of 437North Fifth St., joined the race for District 1 Supervisor. Othercandidates include Brookhaven aldermen Dorsey Cameron Jr. and theRev. Jerry L. Wilson, and Alex H. Robinson Sr. All the candidatesare Democrats.

District 4 saw the addition of Richard Carroll Smith to thesupervisor’s race. He will challenge incumbent W.D. “Doug”Moak.

In another supervisor race, Bob K. Smith, of 955 Newell Road,put his name on the ballot in District 5. He will challengeincumbent Gary Walker and Douglas Falvey in the Democraticprimary.

In District 2, Johnny Warren Womack withdrew from thesupervisor’s race, citing health reasons, Watkins said. That leavesincumbent Bobby J. Watts and Clarence Edwards as candidates.

Democrat John Earl Washington, of 4019 Cypress Road, joined agrowing list of candidates for the vacant Post 1 Constableoffice.

Other Democratic candidates include Donald R. (Don) Smith,Charles Ralph Smith Jr., Bateman Stilley and John (Buster) Hickman.Donald Golmon is seeking the office as a Republican.

With five weeks to go in qualifying, 43 candidates have throwntheir hats into the ring in contests for 19 elected county anddistrict offices on this year’s ballot. There are no candidates yetfor representative of House District 92, currently held by Dr. JimBarnett.

“I’m sure we’ll have several more candidates sign up before thequalifying deadline,” Watkins said about future candidateactivity.

Other races and candidates so far include (all are running asDemocrats unless noted):

* Chancery Clerk – incumbent Tillmon Bishop, Charles “Charlie”Hart and L. Ralph Smith.

* Circuit Clerk – incumbent Terry Lynn (Case) Watkins.

* Tax Assessor-Collector – incumbent Nancy Reeves Jordan.

* Coroner – incumbent Clay McMorris and Sherry DouglasWilliams.

* Superintendent of Education – incumbent Perry Miller and JasonR. Case.

* District 3 Supervisor – incumbent Nolan Earl Williamson andHollis Kelly.

* Post 1 Justice Court Judge – incumbent Judy Martin andRepublican Ricky Thibodeaux.

* Post 2 Justice Court Judge – incumbent B.J. Price.

* Post 2 Constable – incumbent W. Lavon Boyd.

* District Attorney – 14th Circuit Court District – Gus Sermosand Nelson Estess.

* State Representative, District 53 – incumbent Bobby Moak andRepublican Richard Baker III.

The first party primaries are scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 5.Party primary runoffs, where necessary, will be held Tuesday, Aug.26.

Party primary winners will go on to face each other in thegeneral election on Tuesday, Nov. 4.