Qualifying slow in Lawrence County

Published 6:00 am Monday, February 10, 2003

MONTICELLO — It was a slow week in Lawrence County forcandidates qualifying for the party primaries Aug. 5. No newqualifiers were recorded for the week of Feb. 3-7.

Several incumbents still remain unopposed.

Those who are unopposed include District 2 Supervisor Billy JoeBoutwell, District 4 Supervisor Glenn Grubbs, Chancery Clerk KevinRayborn, Circuit Clerk Cindy R. Stokes, Tax Assessor/Collector JeffH. Peterson, County Attorney Damond Ready, Justice Court Judge Post2 Donald G. “Donnie” Mullins and District 1 Constable Lessie J.Butler.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In contested supervisor races, incumbent District 1 SupervisorCarey Hedgepeth will face challenger Steve Garrett and incumbentDistrict 3 Supervisor Calvin Rutland will meet Willie T. Coon inhis bid for a second term.

The District 5 supervisor’s race was left wide-open whenincumbent Calvin Fortenberry decided not to seek a fourth term.Challengers for the vacant office include Elijah Barnes Jr., formerschool board member Mitchell Barnes, James B. “Bo” Benson, SamuelSlay Jr. and Jimmy D. Speights.

Incumbent Sheriff Joel Thames will campaign against a crowdedfield. He faces four challengers with Hoyte Dampier, Ellis D.Howell Jr., former sheriff William E. Mullins and former constableDavid Tullos vying for the post.

The retirement of Superintendent of Education John Bull at theend of his term has left that office open also. Tommy L. Carney,Angela Calcote, Russell Caudill and Tarvey M. Ward will becompeting to move into that office.

Coroner Dr. Joe Ward has decided not to run for a second termand former coroner Sidney Fortenberry and Ronnie Thames will faceoff for that post.

Incumbent Post 1 Justice Court Judge Robert C. “Bobby”Fortenberry Jr. will have to beat Randy Pennington and Jack Ward toremain in office.

Tullos’ challenge to Thames for sheriff has left his post ofConstable District 2 vacant. Tommy Barnett, Claude Davis, Tony R.Lambert, Tony Norwood and Claude H. Wallace have qualified withtheir intent to take the office.

The qualifying deadline is Saturday, March 1. The first partyprimaries are scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 5. Party primary runoffs,where necessary, will be held Tuesday, Aug. 26.