Saturday deadline for election qualifiers

Published 6:00 am Monday, March 3, 2003

Prospective candidates have a little over a day to get theirnames on the ballot for this year’s elections for area and countyoffices, said Lincoln County Circuit Clerk Terry Case Watkins.

Saturday at 5 p.m. is the deadline for candidates to qualify forthis year’s elections. Watkins said her office will be open all daySaturday for qualifying.

The final week has been a little busy as five candidates puttheir names on elected office lists.

“It looks like at this point the hottest supervisor races willbe one and five,” Watkins said Thursday after two more candidatesjoined the District 1 race.

Jessie Earl Givens, the son of late long-time District 1Supervisor Cliff Givens, and Percy Rauls, a former Brookhavenalderman, raised the District 1 candidate count to six thisweek.

Other candidates for that supervisor post include BrookhavenAldermen Dorsey Cameron and the Rev. Jerry L. Wilson, countyemployee Alex H. Robinson Sr. and city firefighter Andrew Graham.All six candidates are running in the Democratic primary.

Five candidates, incumbent Gary Walker, Douglas Falvey, Bob K.Smith, Darrell Britt and Harry Solon Case, are seeking the District5 supervisor post. including There have been no new candidates inthat race this week.

In other supervisor race qualifying, James Howard Williams Jr.,of 1569 New Sight Dr., put his hat in the ring for the District 2post. Williams is the only candidates seeking the office as aRepublican. Democratic contenders include incumbent Bobby J. Watts,Clarence Edwards, John Norton and Tommy McCullough.

At seven, the sheriff’s race has the most candidates of anycontest. However, they will not all be facing each other at thesame time.

Charley Evans, a former investigator with the sheriff’sdepartment, signed up as a Republican this week. He is scheduled toface Klareenca (Kris) Hutcherson in the GOP primary.

In the Democratic primary, incumbent Sheriff Lynn Boyte isfacing Post 1 Constable Wiley Calcote, Robert Berry and Don Evans.James Williams Jr. is seeking the office as an independent.

Incumbent County Surveyor Joe W. Byrd qualified for re-electionto the unpaid county office this week.

In previous election activity this week, incumbent Dist. 92 Rep.Dr. Jim Barnett qualified for re-election as a Republican. He isthe only candidate in that race.

This week’s qualifying raises the overall candidate total to 60seeking 20 county and area elected offices. Other races andcandidates so far include (all are running in the Democraticprimary unless noted):

* Chancery Clerk – incumbent Tillmon Bishop, Charles “Charlie”Hart and L. Ralph Smith.

* Circuit Clerk – incumbent Terry Lynn (Case) Watkins.

* Tax Assessor/Collector – incumbent Nancy Reeves Jordan andRita Goss.

* Coroner – incumbent Clay McMorris, Sherry Douglas Williams andAlton “Bookie” Walker.

* Superintendent of Education – Jason R. Case, Terry Brister andDonald Case.

* District 3 Supervisor – incumbent Nolan Earl Williamson andHollis Kelly.

* District 4 Supervisor – incumbent W.D. “Doug” Moak and CharlesDavis.

* Post 1 Justice Court Judge – incumbent Judy Martin andRepublican Ricky Thibodeaux.

* Post 2 Justice Court Judge – incumbent B.J. Price.

* Post 1 Constable – Donald R. (Don) Smith, Charles Ralph SmithJr., Bateman Stilley, John (Buster) Hickman, John Earl Washingtonand Republican Donald Golmon.

* Post 2 Constable – incumbent Lavon Boyd, Charles B. Welch andDavid Roberson.

* District Attorney, 14th Circuit Court District – Gus Sermos,Nelson Estess and Dewitt “Dee” Bates Jr.

* State Representative, District 53 – incumbent Bobby Moak andRichard Baker III, who is running as a Republican.

* State Senate, District 39 – incumbent Cindy Hyde-Smith andW.L. Rayborn.

The first party primaries are scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 5.Party primary runoffs, where necessary, will be held Tuesday, Aug.26.

Party primary winners will go on to face each other in thegeneral election on Tuesday, Nov. 4.