Good turnout expected in Lawrence Co.

Published 6:00 am Monday, November 3, 2003

MONTICELLO — A busy last week of absentee voting turned arounda disappointing turnout for Tuesday’s general election, accordingto officials.

“It started out slow and picked up,” said Circuit Clerk CindyStokes. “I don’t know why.”

In mid-October, nearly a month after the absentee ballotingperiod opened, Stokes said her office had received only about 35ballots.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Voter turnout for the general election had been disappointing,she said, because voters came in near record numbers for both thefirst and second primaries. Her office received more than 400absentee ballots in each of those primaries.

“I think it’s because most of the local elections have alreadybeen settled,” she said.

Last week, however, voters began submitting absentee ballots indroves to meet Saturday’s noon deadline. Stokes said her office hadreceived 347 ballots by the deadline, only about 50 shy of the highturnout in the primaries.

“We had a very busy day Friday and another 50 Saturday,” shesaid. “I think we’ll have a fair turnout tomorrow.”

Stokes encouraged all county residents to get out and vote.Voting precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters willhave the opportunity to mark their favorite candidate in the stateraces as well as the few county races that remain undecided.

Lawrence County races still undecided include:

* Supervisor District 4: Incumbent Democrat Glen Grubs andRepublican Cody;

* Supervisor District 5: Democrat Coach Archie Ross, RepublicanWilliam Charlie “Jimbo” Barton and Independent Jerry Goode.Supervisor District 5 was left open with incumbent CalvinFortenberry’s retirement;

* Justice Court Judge Post 2: Incumbent Justice Court JudgeRobert C. “Bobby” Fortenberry Jr., Republican Jimmy Hurst Barton,and Independent Alvin C. Peyton;

* Representative, District 53: Incumbent Democrat Bobby Moak andRepublican Richard “Ricky” Baker; and

* Representative, District 97: Democrat Derrick Dahl andRepublican Sam Mims. Incumbent Rep. Clem Nettles chose not torerun.