Peavey Coach of Year; Johns, Tobias honored

Published 6:00 am Monday, December 29, 2003

Tucker Peavey of Brookhaven is the 2003 Region 6-4A Coach of theYear after leading the Panthers to the region championship and a9-4 record. The Panthers were 6-0 in region play and reached thesecond round of the state playoffs where they lost 25-20 to WayneCounty, the eventual state champion.

Brookhaven quarterback Jimmy Johns was named the region’s BestOffensive Player and teammate Philip Tobias was chosen BestDefensive Player. Senior quarterback Fred Jones of South Pike wasnamed the region’s Most Valuable Player.

Johns (6-2, 220), a junior, passed for 1,443 yards and 18touchdowns this season, completing 86 of 160 passes. He rushed thefootball 132 times for 820 yards and 7 touchdowns.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Tobias (6-4, 290), a senior anchor on Brookhaven’s defense,accounted for 14 sacks this year. He was credited with 88 tacklesand 6 fumble recoveries. Tobias has made a verbal commitment tosign a scholarship with Southern Miss.

Brookhaven players joining Johns and Tobias on the all-regionteam are safety Jarvis Wilson, running back Ronnie McNulty, widereceiver Taurean Jones, center Grant McDonnieal, offensive guardsAdam Ogden and Kenneth Fairman, offensive tackle Tyler Gatlin anddefensive tackle Jessie Bowman.

All-Region 6-4A Football Team

Coach of the Year: Tucker Peavey, Brookhaven

Most Valuable Player: Fred Jones, South Pike.

Best Offensive Player: Jimmy Johns, Brookhaven.

Best Defensive Player: Philip Tobias, Brookhaven.

Brookhaven: Jarvis Wilson, Ronnie McNulty, Grant McDonnieal,Adam Ogden, Jessie Bowman, Taurean Jones, Tyler Gatlin, KennethFairman. Honorable mention: Aljur Herring, Jason Dixon, John WayneHavard, Darrius Perkins, Michael Thrasher, Josh Patrick, PatrickEarl, Tyrone Jones, Zach Ray, Bud Chatman, Dominique Smith.

South Pike: Vincent Wheatley, Quentrelle Green, Jessie Burton,Dewayne Pittman, Daniel Montgomery, Michael Cockerham, James Davis.Honorable mention: Randy Carter, Nick Jackson, Theodore Stallings,Cedric Williams.

Lawrence County: Casey Williams, Phillip Kimble, Joe Magee, IvanHillard, Dexter Haynes, Randy Ferdinand. Honorable mention: DavisBall, Donovan Dixon, Marlon Stanfield, Cory Williams, JoeSmith.

McComb: Pat Barnes, Jarrod Dyson, Damean Seals, Michael Lewis,DeJuan Coney. Honorable mention: Travis Collins, John Thompson,Marren Williams, Kevin Robinson, Roderius Starks.

Jim Hill: Tony Miner, Jeffery Moore, Tony Hobson, Tivan Harris.Honorable mention: Jeronimo Williams, Courtney Walker, Jermey Odom,Jarvis Curtis, Nelson Badelle, Julius King, Mario Hannah, MarvinWashington, James Davis, Eric Singleton.

Terry: James Owens, Boris Joiner, Mike Summers, Jess Shelby.Honorable mention: Shawn Walters, Eddrick Collins, Willie Willis,Richard Jefferson, Jimmy Tyus, Omar Valladares, Trevor Johnson,Tareus Willis, Trey Callender.

Wingfield: Aljer Williams, Roderick Scott. Honorable mention:Aaron Barnes, Jeremy Jackson, Chris Lewis, Derrick Roach, AntonioMyers, Tim Kendricks.