They are the champions!

Published 6:00 am Monday, March 15, 2004

Congratulations are certainly in order for Brookhaven HighSchool’s Science Bowl Team.

The five students — Brandon Russell, Tabbitha McKee, NatalieWolfe, Patrick Ayers, alternate Tucker Brady and Coach Leah AnnPeavey — won first place in the Mississippi Regional Science BowlCompetition recently by defeating a team from the MississippiSchool for Math and Science.

The victory was only the second time in 13 years that MSMS haslost in a regional competition. Now, Brookhaven High can proudlyclaim that it’s the first non-specialty public school to beatMSMS.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

We know the Mississippi School for Math and Science is home tosome of the brightest young minds in this state. That’s why theschool was created — to nurture that intelligence in a uniquesetting.

Today, though, Brookhaven can claim to have the Best ScienceBowl Team in Mississippi.

We wish the team more success when they travel to Washington,D.C. to compete for the national title in April.