Henley leads dream team

Published 6:00 am Tuesday, January 4, 2005

Under first-year Copiah Academy head football coach MitchMitchell, senior running back Price Henley got to showcase histalent and helped the Gallman-based Colonels to an 8-3 record.

Henley, who stands 5-8 and weighs 170 pounds, rushed for 1,202yards and scored 19 touchdowns. He returned two kickoffs for TDs.His All-Purpose yards were 1,595.

For his accomplishments, Henley has been named The DAILYLEADER’S All-Area Most Valuable Player on the 2004 All-AreaFootball Team.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Sharing Offensive Player of the Year honors are Franklin Countyteammates, quarterback Jasper O’Quinn and running back DeAndreaCameron. The Defensive Player of the Year is Marcus Tillman, alsoof Franklin County.

Joining Henley, O’Quinn and Cameron in the offensive backfieldare running back Les Mulkey of McComb Parklane, Sam Reed of SouthPike and Dexter Douglas of Hazlehurst. Stacking up on the offensiveline are Kyle Tudor of Franklin County, Hugh Hartzog of LawrenceCounty, Theodore Stallings of South Pike, Jake Buckels of FranklinCounty and Phillip Freeman of Wesson. O’Quinn and Buckels arerepeaters from last year’s team.

Wide receivers are Vincent Wheatley of South Pike and DamoynCarroll of Hazlehurst. Carroll is a repeater from last year’steam.

Brian Channell of Wesson is the all-purpose player. Theplacekicker is Matt Glover of Parklane and the return specialist isAnthony Chambliss of Jefferson County.

Defensively, Tillman is joined on the trenches by Kasy Stinsonof Parklane, Emmanuel Muhammad of Franklin County, Brandon Pedigoof Franklin and Ryan Causey of Wesson.

Linebackers include Johnny Sanders and Damien Gary ofHazlehurst, and Jonathan Brooks of Franklin County. LaPatrickWebber of South Pike, J.P. Lewis of Lawrence and J.C. Boyd ofParklane are the defensive backs. Brooks is a repeater from lastyear’s team.

The punter is Ben Wall of Lawrence County.

“It is a great honor,” said Copiah football coach MitchMitchell. “He had a heckuva year for us. He is a good kid and agood football player.”

On defense, Henley played linebacker for Copiah. He finished theseason with 42 tackles and three pass interceptions. He played inthe MPSA 20004 All-Star football game. He also plays soccer andplans to play in senior college.

Jasper O’Quinn (5-11, 175. sr.) was thestarting quarterback for Coach Anthony Hart’s Franklin CountyBulldogs. O’Quinn finished the season with 168 carries for 1,257yards and 17 TDs. He completed 24-of-59 passes for 501 yards and 5touchdowns.

DeAndrea Cameron (5-8, 160, sr.) complimented O’Quinn asthe leading running back with 214 carries for 1,482 yards and 24touchdowns.

Fred Robinson (5-8, 160, sr.) sparked Coach WillieBrown’s Hazlehurst Indians to the Region 7-3A title and to thesemifinals of the South State playoffs. Robinson completed 83 of134 passes for 1,875 yards and 15 TDs.

Les Mulkey (5-10, 170, jr.) carried the football 225times for 1,124 yards and 19 touchdowns. Mulkey, who transferredfrom Hammond, La., played for Coach Charlie Newlon’s ParklanePioneers.

Sam Reed (5-11, 180, sr.) rushed for 117 carries for1,101 yards and 13 touchdowns for the South Pike Eagles. On theseason, he collected 1,700 all purpose yards.

Dexter Douglas (5-8, 230, sr.) powered the Hazlehurstoffense with 180 carries for 1,080 yards and 11 TDs.

Kyle Tutor (6-0, 260, sr.) contributed as an offensivelineman for Franklin County.

Hugh Hartzog (6-0, 235, sr.) was a three-year starter onthe offensive line for Lawrence County. Hartzog scored a 33 on hisACT.

Theodore Stallings (6-0, 230, sr.) was a force to bereckoned with on the South Pike offensive line.

Jake Buckels (6-0. 264, sr.) was instrumental toFranklin County’s success working as center.

Phillip Freeman (6-6, 270, jr.) worked hard as a two-waylineman for first-year Wesson coach Tommy Clopton.

Vincent Wheatley (6-2, 195, sr.) played wide out forSouth Pike. Wheatley led the Eagles with 28 catches for 487 yardsand six touchdowns.

Damoyn Carroll (6-2, 185, sr.) directed Hazlehurst with60 catches for 950 yards and11 TDs.

Brian Channell (5-11, 170, sr.) worked hard for Wesson,rushing the football 140 times for 745 yards and 11 TDs. Channellalso caught 2 pass for 95 yards and 2 TDs and returned six kicksfor 128 yards.

Anthony Chambliss (5-9, 160, jr.) was a standout playerfor Jefferson County named to All-Region 7-3A as Special TeamsPlayer of the Year.

Matt Glover (5-10, 160, sr.) kicked 30 PATs with 4 fieldgoals for Parklane, Glover punted 43 times for 1,469 yards with 51yards longest for 34.2 average.

Kasy Stinson (6-5, 215, sr.) made big plays on defenseto end the season with 74 stops. Stinson was named South AAADefensive Player of the Year and was selected to the MPSA SouthAll-Star team.

Emanuel Muhammad (6-2, 300, jr.) was a force to bereckoned with on defense for Franklin County.

Brandon Pedigo (6-0, 270, sr.) helped Franklin County’sdefense as a tackle.

Ryan Causey (6-3, 310, sr.) was one of the biggestlineman and an impact player on the Wesson squad.

Marcus Tillman (6-4, 245, jr.) started at defensive endand recorded 52 tackles and 16 sacks for FranklinCounty.

Dewayne Pittman (5-11, 185. jr.) wrapped up the yearwith 163 tackles for South Pike.

Johnny Sanders (6-2, 160, jr.) directed the Hazlehurstdefense with 120 total tackles and made 7 sacks as a linebacker. Hecaught 40 passes for 400 yards and 3 TDs.

Damien Gary (6-1, 185, sr.) followed teammate Sanders onat linebacker with 117 total tackles for Hazlehurst.

J.P. Lewis (6-3, 190, sr.) made 46 tackles andintercepted 3 passes for Lawrence County.

Jonathan Brooks (5-8, 160, sr.) worked at cornerback forFranklin County to end the year with 27 tackles and 8 passinterceptions.

LaPatrick Webb (5-10, 155, jr.) directed South Pike atdefensive back with 7 intercepted passes.

J.C. Boyd (6-2, 225, sr.) playeddefensive end for Parklane.

Ben Wall (6-0,170, sr.) averaged 36.4 yards per punt forLawrence County.


Amite County: Lee Robinson, Ricky Williams, CarlWhite.

COpiah Academy: Andy Jackson, Jake Guess, WalterWest.

Crystal Springs: Clarence Pendelton, David Virgil II,Bobby Neal, Thomas Hunter.

Franklin County: Gary Rogers, Casey Hammack, D.J. Shaw,DeAndre Davis.

Jefferson County: Joshua Lutch, Timothy Lewis, WillisMims.

Hazlehurst: Jazzman Guy, Kevin Holmes, Bobby Moore,Anthony Barnes.

Lawrence County: Kentario Hardy, Chris Jefferson, DannyPowell. Tavalas Peyton.

McComb: John Thompson, Carlos Brister.

North Pike: Lance Busby, Evin Lang.

Parklane: Justin Honea, Matt Glover.

Port Gibson: Tobias Shanks, Erick Hall, Kelvin Jackson,Terrinell Claiborne, Damien Coleman, Jeremy Brandon.

South Pike: Randy Carter, Cedric Jackson.

Wesson: Corey Puckett, Tuffy Thompson, Blake Brister,Mack Jackson, Bobby Harris, John Michael Cliburn.

Wilkinson County: Alvin Fossleman, Kendrick McDonald,Corey Dunbar.