Voters head to polls in area races

Published 5:00 am Monday, June 6, 2005

Voters in area municipalities get their chance to decide theircommunities’ leaders for the next four years during Tuesday’sgeneral election.

Voters in Meadville, Bude, Monticello and Wesson will be makingtheir choices in their respective alderman races while the mayor’soffice is up for grabs in Bude.

“We’re expecting a big turnout,” said Debra Wactor, Bude’s cityclerk.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the mayor’s race, incumbent Arthur Mac Littleton is seeking asecond term against Earl Case and Margie McNair. Case works withMcManus Electric while McNair is employed at Franklin CountyElementary School.

Wesson Mayor Alton Shaw and Monticello Mayor Dave Nichols areunopposed for re-election in their cities. In Meadville, long-timealderman W.P. “Sonny” Dickey is unopposed for the mayor’s seatafter incumbent Gregg Tindle chose to retire after 21 years inoffice.

In Meadville, City Clerk Debra King said preparations forTuesday’s vote are well under way and there has been a good numberof absentee votes cast so far.

“It’s looking good,” King said.

Among Meadville alderman races, six candidates are seeking fiveat -large posts. Incumbents Charles Calcote, Jack HollingsworthJr., Vanessa Walker and Bart Jones are seeking additional terms inoffice while David Scarbrough and Bobby Kelly are looking to jointhe board.

The top five vote-getters will be the winners.

Bude elects aldermen from wards.

In Ward One, Lee J. Romero III is unopposed to be the area’srepresentative after incumbent Michael Goss chose to not seekre-election. Incumbent Ward Two Alderman George Price also is notrunning, leaving James C. Watts unopposed for the seat.

Ward Three incumbent Tommy Anthony Gibbs is unopposed forre-election. In Ward Four, incumbent Shanna H. Jackson faces LindaGail Green.

The alderman at-large race pits incumbent Norma Jean Kellyagainst Grady Huff. Two others signed up for the race, but did notmeet qualifications to be certified, Wactor said.

In Wesson, unopposed Ward Two incumbent John Welter Jr. is theonly alderman guaranteed to return to the board. He will be joinedby new Alderman at large Van H. Graham, who is unopposed afterincumbent David Douglas chose not to seek another term.

Ward One Alderman Robert Derrick is facing three challengers inAndi Ellison Farrish, Diane Keys and Kenneth Roberts.

Ward Three Alderwoman Lura Greer is opposed by Billy Ellison andWard Four Alderman Hollis Cowen Jr. is being challenged by Bobby G.Britt and Rhonello Dube.

In Monticello, seeking the Ward 1 post are Robert Collier andincumbent Jerry Goode. Ward 2 alderman Steve Moreman isuncontested. Greg Sutton and James Wilson will seek the Ward 3post. John Catt and Thomas Kevin Garrett are opposing each other inthe Ward 4 post. The Ward 5 race includes Craig “Bowie” Davis,Jimmy Ray Hutchinson, Tony Norwood and Glynn Vince.

Polls in the municipalities will be open from 7 a.m. to 7p.m.