C-L’s Williams, Belanger named to All-Series team

Published 5:00 am Thursday, June 9, 2005

MILLINGTON , TENN. – Copiah-Lincoln Community College shortstopPatrick Williams and pitcher Ryan Belanger have been named to theNJCAA Division II All-World Series team. The two sophomores wereinstrumental n leading the Co-Lin Wolfpack to a fourth place finishin last week’s Series.

Williams, a Delta State signee, led the Wolves in batting with a.379 average and hit 12 home runs. Belanger (7-8), a right-handerfrom Houma, La., has signed with Southern Miss. Belanger owns thesingle-season Co-Lin record for strikeouts (132) by a pitcher.

Coach Keith Case’ s Wolves (32-28-1) played four games in theseries. After losing to Elgin (Ill.) 3-1 in the opening round, theyrebounded to beat Brookdale (N.J.) 5-3 in 10 innings and Chesapeake(Md.) 16-15 before losing to Parkland (Ill.) 10-0.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Grand Rapids Community College (35-21) made NJCAA history onThursday night as the Raiders became the first team in Division IIBaseball history to win three consecutive national championships.GRCC defeated Parkland 2-0 in the title game. Parkland (52-17) wasthe last team other than Grand Rapids to win the championship. TheRaiders finished a perfect 4-0 in the tournament for the secondconsecutive year.  

Grand Rapids finally lit up the scoreboard in the bottom of thesixth, as they received an RBI single from Justin McKenzie. Thegame remained 1-0 until the bottom of the eighth when Mike Leporscored on a failed pickoff attempt at third base, bringing thefinal score to 2-0.

Tournament MVP Ben Knuth (7-3) was the first pitcher all week toshut down the Cobras offense. He allowed only three hits and onewalk in eight innings. Knuth fanned four. Eric Lawrence pitched theninth to earn his ninth save of the year.

Adam Tobler (10-2) took the loss for Parkland . The shutout winwas only the second in the championship game in 13 years. LincolnLand won 12-0 in 2000.

All-Tournament Team

Justin Armiger, Chesapeake; Patrick Williams, Copiah-Lincoln;Ryan Belanger, Copiah-Lincoln; Ryan Wardlow, Elgin; Chris Bielski,Elgin; Jim Viscomi, Parkland; Lance Tofflemire, Parkland; ScottHauber, Parkland; Tristan Facer, Parkland; Drew Slagter, GrandRapids; Justin McKenzie, Grand Rapids; Ben Knuth, Grand Rapids(MVP).