BA boys rally past Leake; win AA title

Published 6:00 am Tuesday, February 21, 2006

PELAHATCHIE — The defending State AA champion BrookhavenAcademy Cougars won their second straight title Saturday night witha 53-49 come-from-behind win over the Leake Academy Rebels in EastRankin Academy’s jam-packed gym. Senior guard Kurt Perkins led theway with 18 points.

Brookhaven improved to 34-1 on the season and Leake fell to 30-7with the loss.

In the boys consolation game, Indianola clipped Marshall40-37.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Leake whipped Adams County Christian School 76-46 in the girlschampionship game. In the girls consolation game, Natchez Trinitygot past Columbia by a score of 41-39.

Brookhaven gets a first round bye in the Overall Tournament heldat Mississippi College this week.

The Cougars, coached by Dale Watts, trailed 19-8 in the firstquarter and cut the deficit to 30-21 at the half. Going into thefinal frame, Leake led Brookhaven 43-41.

A trey from Jeremy Winborne gave the Cougars their first lead inthe game with 4:10 left to play. Winborne followed with a pair offree throws to give Brookhaven a 50-47 lead with 2:20 remaining inthe game.

The Rebels cut the deficit to 1-point, 50-49, with less than aminute left. T-Boy Lynch nailed a pair of free throws for a 52-49edge with 42 seconds left. Perkins added a freebie with 21 secondsleft for the final 53-49 lead.

“We fell behind again, but we did the little things we need todo,” said Watts. “The guys sucked it up and pulled it out. I amproud of this team. The seniors showed a lot of determinationthrough the tournament.”

Powering the Cougars with 18 points and 4 steals was Perkins.Lynch fired in 10 points and made 3 steals. Tops off the backboardswith 10 rebounds was Seth Davis followed by Winborne with 7. Alsowith 3 steals each were Alan Gray, Cory Dickerson and Winborne.

Directing Leake with 16 points was Trevor Langston. Drew Duncanfinished with 13 points, followed by Adam Byrd with 11.

Selected to the All-Tournament Team from Brookhaven wereWinborne, Gray and Perkins.