Lady Jags sweep 7-3A awards

Published 5:00 am Friday, May 19, 2006

As the Division 7-3A softball awards go, the North Pike Jaguarscleaned house by netting six players on the All-Division 7-3A team,with Catherine West being named MVP and head coach Sona WallaceCoach of the Year.

The Jaguars added Maggie Dunaway, Leonna Ballard, Kaitlyn Perry,Jenna Dickerson, and Samantha Roberts to the All-District list withWest.

North Pike made it to the second round of the Class 3A StatePlayoffs.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Making the team from Franklin County was Melissa McFarland,Kristin Oglesby, and Courtney Reid.

Todd Haygood coached the Bulldogs this season, while WestLincoln native Dana Smith assisted.

Other area players making the team included, Raney Denton andJasmine Clements of Tylertown. Britany Harvey and Haley Ratliff ofWest Marion, and Mari Phillips, Libby Aikens, Elizabeth Powers, andErica Miller of Columbia.