Banquet honors BHS football team

Published 6:00 am Tuesday, January 30, 2007

Running back Charles Wilson and punter/placekicker WillThibodeaux were named Co-Most Valuable Players on the 2006Brookhaven High School football team. The two seniors were amongthe players honored Monday night at the Ole Brook Football &Cheerleader Banquet.

The banquet was held at the Brookhaven Recreation Departmentbuilding on Highway 51 North. A crowd of 200-plus filled thefacility to capacity. They dined on a barbecue buffet catered byBowie Smokehouse.

The Rev. Mike Brister, team chaplain, delivered the invocation.The crowd was treated to a giant screen video, featuring highlightsof the 2006 season.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Ole Brook head coach and athletic director Tucker Peavey thankedthe players and his coaching staff for their hard work during thepast year. “A lot of people don’t realize what we do. They don’tsee the blood, sweat and tears that are required to make ourprogram successful.

“We train year round,” said Peavey. “We have a big corps ofplayers who are with us every day. Some of them play basketball orother sports, but they rejoin our group as soon as their season iscompleted.”

Peavey also thanked the school administration and teachers forworking with him. He recognized the three men who run video camerasduring games “so we can get different angles of the game.”

He also complimented the medical support team which took care ofplayers during and after games. “They go on the road with us.”

Peavey also thanked the parents. “Thank you for trusting us withyour young men.”

Ole Brook’s senior team members received gift packages,compliments of the school and the Ole Brook Gridiron Club. Buddyand Sheri Thibodeaux serve as president and vice president of theclub.

Peavey praised his 19 seniors. “They are the last of the 2004state championship team.”

Ole Brook seniors include Grant Heathcock, Bo Smith, ChaseMcIntyre, Ramon Coleman, Charles Wilson, R.J. Jenkins, DemetriusBryant, Marcus Smith, Jerrell Buie, Greg Walker, Will Thibodeaux,Taylor Newman, Bart Sias, Courtney Clark, Randy Merchant, SkylerSmith, Virgil Sanders, Josh Witherspoon and Larry Winters.

Thibodeaux and R.J. Jenkins were named co-winners of theTherrell-Tanner Award. Jenkins, a free safety, also received theScholastic Award and the Best Defensive Back Award.

Junior tackle Darion Smith was named Best Offensive Linesman.Vigil Sanders was named Best Defensive Lineman. Bart Sias was namedBest Linebacker.

Junior quarterback Charles (Bobo) Rancifer was named BestOffensive Back. Junior wide receiver Simmie Yarborough received theBest Receiver Award.

The Panther Award went to Taylor Newman and Sias.

Wide receiver Marcus Smith won the Most Improved Award.

Recognized as Team Captains were Sanders, Sias, Newman,Thibodeaux and Rancifer.

Emcee/PA announcer Stan Patrick praised the players and coachesfor their efforts during the season. “We have a classy team and abunch of classy coaches.”

The Panthers finished 7-5, losing in the second round of thestate playoffs to Wayne County, the eventual state champion. OleBrook was third in the Division 6-4A race.

Ole Brook cheerleader sponsors Amy Spring and Jerolyn Sealspraised their varsity squad for their efforts during the season.The junior varsity cheerleaders also were recognized.