Soccer awards announced

Published 5:00 am Monday, April 2, 2007

MEADVILLE – The Region 7 All-District honors have been announcedwith Wesson’s Robert Alsbury being named girls soccer Coach of theYear and Wesson’s Christina Fink being named girls MVP.

Franklin County’s Ryan Ratcliff and Caroline Yarbrough werenamed Region 7 offensive players of the year. North Pike’s CanGulle and Katilyn Perry were named defensive players of theyear.

Other awards were given out to North Pike’s John Paul Price andWesson’s Trystan Eschete as most valuable forwards. Most ValuableMidfielder, went to FCHS senior Josh Dixon and North Pike’s SaganKing.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Honored as Most Valuable Defender was Austin McCormick ofFranklin High and Christina Brumfield of Natchez Cathedral

Most Valuable Goal-Keeper went to Franklin County’s DannyMullins and Loyd Star’s Melissa Delaney. Named Most VersatilePlayer was Cathedral’s Taylor Brantley and FC sophomore sensationKate Brasher.

“It was a competitive district this year on both girls and boyssides,” said Franklin County coach Ben Yarbrough, who led the FCgirls to their first ever playoff appearance. “It was a goodyear.”

Yarbrough’s daughter Caroline, a senior holds the All-Time GirlsDistrict scoring record with 87 goals.