Coleman’s birdie bags Tucker title

Published 5:00 am Wednesday, September 5, 2007

Don Coleman rolled in a 15-foot birdie putt on the first playoffhole Monday, lifting his team to the Championship Flight title inthe 11th Annual Tucker 4-Ball Match Play Tournament. Coleman andpartner Grant McDonnieal were tied with defending champions JasonAlbritton and Tommy Langlois after three rounds of sweat-soakedcompetition at the Brookhaven Country Club.

Albritton faced an 8-footer for birdie on the 352-yard, par-4first hole. But his putt failed to find the cup and halve the hole.It was the fourth title for Coleman and the first for McDonnieal, ajunior member of the Delta State University golf team.

Consolation bracket honors in the championship flight went toJeff Henning and George Hennington as they defeated Chuck Hollowayand Scott Langley 2-1.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the first flight, Mike Smith and David Coleman defeated HenrySwann and Paul Henning. Third place honors went to Chris Hudson andDon Stringfellow who defeated Keith McGowen and Jamie Oster.

The 3-day event attracted 160 golfers, many from out oftown.

“We had several teams who have played every year,” saidtournament director Jeff Henning. “They were Tucker’s friends. Theycome back and reunite for this tournament every year.”

Henning said the tournament has raised over $70,000 for theLincoln County Habitat for Humanity. This year’s event earned wellover $10,000.

“State Bank deserves special thanks,” said tournamentcoordinator Josh Smith. “Their corporate sponsorship comes throughevery year and we are grateful for their support.”

In the Horseshoe Tournament, Mark Leblanc and Ben Kerbersuccessfully defended their title by defeating Ty Hardin and SladeWhite in the finals. Leblanc credited an easy first round victoryfor his success.

Other flight winners:

Second flight: Russell Elliott-Scott Porchdefeated Kelly Thompson-Derek Ginn.

Third flight: Mike Proffitt-Carl Aycockdefeated Henry Hamill-John Burton.

Fourth flight: Mike Price-Brian DiCoccodefeated Jeff Wilson-Tony Smith.

Fifth Flight: Wayne Wilson-Shane Smith defeatedGlynn Murray-Scott Murray.

Sixth Flight: Trey Thomas-Ronnie Cain defeatedFred Cannon-Jody Jordan.

Seventh Flight: Kenneth Herring-Gray Williamsdefeated Ronald Ross-Chuck Smith.

Eighth flight: Beck Warren-Kyle Breezaledefeated Jason Anding-Jason Douglas.

Ninth flight: Mark Jones-Slade White defeatedCorey Douchard-Brennon Adams.