Lincoln Co. in Dixie Boys State

Published 7:21 pm Friday, July 16, 2010

Lincoln County’s Dixie Boys Baseball League All-Stars aim for achampionship in the Dixie Boys State Tournament at Laurel/JonesCounty. Action starts Saturday with the 14s meeting Lawrence Countyat 2:30. The 13s face Laurel/Jones County at 7 p.m.

Other opening round games in the 14s bracket features Jackson vs.Marion/Walthall County at noon, Cleveland vs. Kosciusko at 5 p.m.,and Petal vs. Laurel/Jones County at 7;30. On Sunday, Pascagoulaplays the winner of the Lincoln/Lawrence game.

Opening round games in the 13s has Columbia meeting Magee at noon,Pascagoula vs. Hattiesburg, and Petal vs. Marion/Walthall County at5.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Win or lose, the teams play again Sunday in the double-eliminationtournament at the Walters-Lions Field and Wooten-Legion Field, bothat the same complex.

Lincoln County 14s manager Seth Easterling said his team wasanxious to get started. “We are looking pretty good. We want tobring home a state championship.”

Easterling coached Pete’s Interiors to the regular seasonchampionship and the league tournament title two weeks ago. PaulJackson & Son Construction was runner-up in the leaguestandings and the tournament.

Dr. Kyle Bateman is managing the Lincoln County 13s. He said thesquad was ready to play.

“Our players have shown a lot of dedication to practice,” saidBateman. “Laurel is a good team and my players are excited at theopportunity to play them.”

The 13-year-old all-stars include: Head coach:Kyle Bateman. Assistants: Brad Mullins, JerryHood.

Players: John Paul Jackson, Scotty Bateman, MackSmith, Peyton Hood, C.J. Viramontez, Mac McQuage, Brett Calcote,Brock Ezell, Chas Acy, Alex Neal, Chase Buckles, Zach Dickerson,Zayne Mullins.

14-Year-Old Team

Head coach: Seth Easterling. Assistantcoaches: Jason Wilson, Andrew Hickman.

Players: Derick Brumfield, Sam Bivens, BradyWilson, Dylan Watts, Bailey Warren, Les Parker, Caleb Skinner,Ethan Harris, Landon McCullough, Zach Smith, Heath Hickman, NewtRiley, Andrew Culver.

Lawrence Co. All-Stars

Lawrence County’s 14-year-old all-star squad includes several13-year-olds. The team consists of Matthew Patterson, Reid Graves,John Hedgepeth, Drake Nelson, Will Jackson, Kody Smith, PatrickLittle, Rusty Rowells, Luke Phillips, Kewaun May, Eddie McCollumand Logan Greenlee. Team Manager: Kelly Greenlee.Coach: Stanley Stephens