Mt. Olive’s Duckworth directs All-Region 4-1A

Published 7:00 pm Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Mount Olive senior quarterback Rueben Duckworth directed thePirates to a successful title defense of their Class 1A statefootball championship, amassing over 3,000 yards total offense in2010. Duckworth was the runaway choice for the Region 4-1A MostValuable Player honors.

Quarterback Caleb Upton of Natchez Cathedral was named thenregion’s Most Valuable Offensive Player. Kicker Garrett Wallace ofBogue Chitto was chosen Most Valuable Special Teams Player and TimFeazell of Mount Olive was named Defensive MVP.

Matt Wooten of Vicksburg St. Aloysius was named Most ValuableLinemen.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Cathedral captured the region’s Coaching Staff of the Year honorsas they directed the Green Wave to the region championship and a10-3 record.

Duckworth, a swift 205-pounder, rushed for 2,965 yards as thePirates finished 11-4. He passed for 367 yards.

In the championship game against previously unbeaten Durant,Duckworth rushed for 250 yards and three touchdowns as the Pirateswon 20-14.

Wallace, a senior, kicked 38 extra points and three field goalsthis season, including a pair of game-winning field goals.

Also representing the Bogue Chitto Bobcats on the All-Region FirstTeam are Colton McClendon, Germie Martin, Shane Lewis, Tevin Tobiasand Kevin Brothern.

West Lincoln was represented on the First Team by Deon Moore andJeremy Laird.

All-Region 4-1A Football Team

Cathedral– First team: J.D. Ealey, Josh Callaway, Semmes White,Daniel Huffines, Tyler Fleming, Adam Kaiser, Carl Hammitte, TylerJordan. Second Team: Mathew Golden, Khalil Brice, Kyle Bradley,Dakota Vaughan.

Dexter-First team: Tyler Hart, Chris Cooley, Oshea Lewis, RaheemRobinson, Tyson Smith, Kenzell Lenoir. Second team: Ron Harvey,Dante Butler, Ladarrell Warner, Vonte Owens.

Bogue Chitto-First team: Colton McClendon, Germie Martin, ShaneLewis, Tevin Tobias, Kevin Brothern. Second team: Brock Roberts,Chris Hall, James Blackwell, Brandon Wells.

St. Aloysius-First team: Matt Wooten, Ford Biedenharn, Mac Jones,Carlton Campbell. Second team: Elliot Bexley, Sage Lewis, RobertArledge, Scott Johnson.

Sebastopol-First team: Kyle Sistrunk, James Patrick, Jake Loper.Second team: Dan Elmore, Wayne Bass, Weston Shaw.

Salem-First team: Blake Loup, Tyler Duncan. Second team:A.J.Robinson, James Benjamin.

West Lincoln-First team:Deon Moore, Jeremy Laird.

Second team:Jonathan Smith, Alston Bozeman, Jonah King, JarrodWhite.