Ole Brook football players, cheerleaders honored

Published 7:00 pm Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Wide receiver Ross Hill and cornerback GregSims were named overall Most Valuable Players on offense anddefense respectively at Monday night’s Ole Brook Football &Cheerleader Banquet.  BHSfootball players and cheerleaders were honored at the banquet thatwas held at the main office of the Brookhaven Parks &Recreation Department.

    Ole Brook athletic director and head football coach Wade Hendersonwelcomed the large crowd to the celebration. The Rev. PhillipHamilton gave the invocation prior to the buffet meal that wascatered by Broma’s Deli.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

    Genoa Sartin, Ole Brook Gridiron Club president, encouraged thecrowd to become members of the club. “It’s a rewarding job. Themore people we have, the better the club.”

    Cheerleader coach/sponsor Amy Spring recognized the members of the2011 cheerleading squad and presented them with awards. She saidthe Lady Panthers participated in the week-long cheerleading champat Gulf Shores, Ala., and won the Spirit Stick four days. The teamlater placed fifth in the Magnolia State competition.

    Coach Chad Leggett presented the Most Valuable Offensive Back Award to  Sims. Coach Sean Gerald gavethe  Most ValuableOffensive Lineman Award to Rashun Smith. Coach Dustin Lott gave theMost Valuable Defensive Back Award to Sims.

    Coach  Chaz Allen gave theMost Valuable Defensive Lineman Award to Malcolm Stewart. The MVPDefensive Player award went to Calcote and was presented by CoachKelby Bowman. Gerald presented the MVP Offense plaque to Hill.

    The Therrell-Tanner Award, recognizing hard work both on and offthe field, plus community leadership, was presented by Coach JesseBowman. It went to Jaboree Poole on defense and Sherrod Gray onoffense. The award is named in honor of  Coaches R.L. Therrell and C.O.Tanner, both deceased.

    Coach Henderson presented the Team Captain Awards to Tyler Collinsand Calcote.

    Lott gave the Scholastic Awards to Stephen Davey and TheavisCooper.

    Sartin and Basil Robinson, representing the Gridiron Club,presented each senior with a BHS blanket and other gifts. Hendersongave each senior his game jersey.

    “This is  something youwill treasure and keep for the rest of your lives. I still havemine.”

     Henderson recognizedBrookhaven’s two representatives on the Mississippi Association ofCoaches Class 5A All-State Football Team. Sims was a First Teamselection and Poole was Second Team.

    Also recognized last night were Brookhaven’s All-Region 3-5AFootball Team selections. Receiving MVP honors were Sims, Calcote,Hill and Poole.

    Henderson extended thanks to the many individuals who helped makeOle Brook football successful. “We all work together as a team andas a unit. Thanks for your support.”

    Robinson closed the evening with the benediction.