BA athletes earn honors

Published 8:00 pm Wednesday, May 2, 2012

WESSON – The Brookhaven Academy faculty and coaches honored their varsity athletes with a spring banquet to commemorate football, girls’ basketball, boys’ basketball, softball, cheerleader, golf, track, girls’ soccer and boys’ soccer.

     Dr. Ed Moak served as the banquet’s emcee and welcomed the large crowd to the special event that was held at the Thames Center located on the Copiah-Lincoln Community College campus Tuesday night .

     After the meal, coaches from each sport started to recognize their team’s achievements during the year and players were given awards to signify their hard work.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

     Seniors Laura Beth Wright, Will Lucas and Terah Winborne were presented with the Senior Leadership Award. Wright received the Most Valuable Player Award in softball and girls basketball. Winborne was also recognized as the Most Valuable Player award in girls’ basketball.

     Other MVP honors went to Jacob Ross in golf, Dalton Case and Ben McCarroll in track, Maggie Smith and Kristen Peairs in girls’ soccer and Cole Watts in boys’ soccer.

     In boys’ basketball, Brock Smith and Brennan Miller were recognized as the Most Valuable Players. Christian “Bubba” Keene and Gage Posey received the Most Valuable honor in football.

     Brookhaven Academy’s baseball and tennis teams were recognized by their coaches, but did not receive rewards due to the fact that they are still playing. Both coaches stated that they will give those awards at a later time.

     Dr. Moak closed the ceremony, thanking the athletes, coaches and families for the wonderful year they had at Brookhaven Academy.


Brookhaven Academy Awards Banquet


     Senior Leadership: Savannah Brister, Leah Boyd, Meredith Allen, Maggie Smith, Caroline Coleman, Dana Sartin, Courtney Williams, Terah Winborne.


     Team Captain: Jake Shelby. Most Valuable Player: Jacob Ross. Most Improved: Trent May.


     Best in Track: Anna Smith. Best in Field: Alli Livingston.


     Team Captains: Ashtyn Foreman, Maggie Smith. Most Valuable Players: Maggie Kristen Peairs. Best Defensive Player: Katie Ann Rawls. Best Offensive Player: Kristen Peairs. Best Midfielder: Ashtyn Foreman. Goalie: Carey Crozier. Most Improved: Amy Wallace, Sophie Wilson. Rookie of the Year: Sophie Wilson.


     All-District: Cole Watts, Grant Melancon. MAIS All-Star: Cole Watts. Best Offensive Player: Grant Melancon. Best Defensive Player: Gunner Ard. Most Improved: Dalton Case. Cougar Award: Jordan Lee. Most Valuable Player: Cole Watts.


     Most Improved Player: Courtney Turner. Hustle Award: All Livingston. Best Defensive Player: Natalie Keene. Best Offensive Player: Terah Winborne. Team Captains: Terah Winborne, Laura Beth Wright. Most Valuable Player: Anna Laura Beth Wright. All-District: Natalie Keene, Savannah Brister, Meredith Allen.


     MAIS All-State First Teams: Laura Beth Wright, Terah Winborne. Coaches Award: Lindsey Winborne. Most Improved: Madison Warren. Best Defensive Player:Laura Beth Wright, Carey Crozier. Best Offensive Player: Terah Winborne. Most Valuable Player: Terah Winborne, Laura Beth Wright. All-District:Terah Winborne, Carey Crozier, Laura Beth Wright.


     Best Defensive Player: Matthew Evans. Best Offensive Player: Gage Posey. Most Improved: Christian Keene. Most Valuable Players: Brock Smith, Brennan Miller. Senior Leadership: Brennan Miller, Brock Smith, Christian Keene, Hunter Franklin, Ashton Foreman. All-District: Brock Smith, Breanna Miller, Gage Posey, Zach Smith, Christian Keene, Matthew Evans.


     All Conference: Christian Keene, Hunter Franklin, Gage Posey, Landon Nettles, Bailey Hodge, Ken Britt, Jeff Rushing, Will Lucas, Eli Gatlin, Matthew Evans, Colby Culberson, Seth Rushing. Most Valuable Players: Gage Posey, Christian Keene. Best Offensive Back: Landon Nettles. Best Defensive Back: Jeff Rushing. Best Offensive Lineman: Ken Britt. Most Improved: Drew Philipp. Best Defensive Lineman: Bailey Hodge. Best Teammate: Caleb Dunaway. Cougar Award: Will Lucas. Headhunter Award: Ken Britt.


     Senior Leadership Award: Laura Beth Wright, Will Lucas, Terah Winborne.