Area counties’ ballots feature various contests

Published 4:11 am Sunday, November 4, 2012

Voters in Copiah, Franklin and Lawrence counties will have a variety of national, state and local races on their ballots when they go to the polls Tuesday.

     Federal elections for president, senator and representative highlight all area as many of the local races are unopposed. There are, however, some differences in the ballots and several contested state- and county-level races.

     In Copiah County, the race for U.S. House of Representatives will be a vote for the 2nd Congressional District, with the choices being Republican Bill Marcy, longtime Democratic incumbent Bennie G. Thompson, Independent Cobby Mondale Williams and Reform Party candidate Lajena Williams.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

     The race for state Supreme Court Justice from District 1 (Central) is between Earle S. Banks and incumbent William L. (Bill) Waller, Jr. State Supreme Court Justice Leslie D. King is unopposed in Position Two of the District One.

     Two of the five election commissioner positions are contested. In District One, the race is between two Democrats in Wilhelmina Dixon Jones and Nancy M. Tanner. District Two is between Democrat Gene Anding and Republican Frances B. Taylor.

     Other election commissioner candidates in the county are running unopposed: Democrat Bonnie S. McLendon in District Three, Democrat Lydia Claiborne Green in District Four and Republican Beverly Hood in District Five.

     Both school board candidates are unopposed in their respective races. In District Three, the candidate is Terry W. Munn while in District Four it’s Arthur Lee “Pokey” Evans, Jr.

     In addition to the president and senator elections, Franklin and Lawrence county voters will participate in a federal election for 3rd District U.S. representative between Republican incumbent Gregg Harper and Reform candidate John “Luke” Pannell. In a state contest, voters in those counties have on their ballots a state Supreme Court race for the District Two post between Talmadge Braddock and incumbent Justice Mike Randolph.

     Franklin County races also consist of five election commissioner positions, with only the District Four race being contested, where Butch Griffin is running against S. E. Magee. In District One, Gloria Bonds is unopposed, as is Elizabeth P. Lazarus in District Two, Margie S. McNair in District Three and Dona J. Cowart in District Five.

     There are also two school board elections, but neither race is being contested. Clara M. Starks is the candidate in District Three while R. Tyler Scott is unopposed in District Four.

     Lawrence County’s ballots contain the same state and national races as Franklin County. Local elections include one contested position for election commissioner from District Two between Independents Marie McWilliams and Joyce W. Price.

     Uncontested candidates for election commission include Martha Tynes in District one, Robbie Delaughter in District Three, June Grubbs in District Four and Eva Ratcliff in District Five.

     Two school board candidates are unopposed in their respective races. The candidates are Tony Thames in District Three and Scott Bryan in District Four.

     The polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Nov. 6.