Bogue Chitto tops All-Region Team

Published 6:05 pm Thursday, December 27, 2012

Region 4-1A champion Bogue Chitto dominated the individual awards on the 2012 All-Region 4-1A Football Team. Running back Brandon Wells was chosen Offensive MVP and linebacker Jeremy Blackwell was named Defensive MVP. Jermaine Blackwell was named Most Valuable Lineman.

     Bogue Chitto’s Gareth Sartin, Chad Norton and Adam Moak were recognized as the Region’s Coaching Staff of the Year after leading the Bobcats to a 13-1 record. They completed regular-season play with an 11-0 mark and won two playoff games before losing to Stringer in the South State championship.

     Stringer quarterback Tevin Moore was chosen the region’s Overall MVP after leading the Red Devils to the Class 1A state championship. Deandre Bolton of Hinds AHS was named Special Teams MVP.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

     Wells, a 6-foot-1, 190-pound senior, rushed for 1,133 yards and 10 touchdowns this season. He played in the Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Classic. He has made a verbal commitment to sign with Mississippi State.

     Jeremy Blackwell (6-1, 265, jr.) was credited with 209 tackles, including 40 solo stops. Jermaine Blackwell (5-10, 220, jr.) accounted for 147 tackles, including 33 solo hits. Both Blackwells also started in the offensive line.



All-Region 4-1A Football Team

     Region MVP – Tevin Moore, Stringer.

     Offensive MVP – Brandon Wells, Bogue Chitto.

     Defensive MVP – Jeremy Blackwell, Bogue Chitto.

       Most Valuable Lineman –  Jermaine Blackwell, Bogue Chitto.

     Special Teams MVP – Deandre Bolton, Hinds AHS.

     Coaching Staff of the Year Bogue Chitto.


     Bogue Chitto – Brock Roberts, Germie Martin, Brandon Wells, Jeremy Blackwell,, Jermaine Blackwell, James Blackwell, Robert Bonds, Dennis Rogers, Damien Terrell, Jermonte’ Barnes.

     Stringer – Anthony Moore, Blake Windham, Lazarius Jones, Taylor Sprouse, Devin Stringer, Anthony Hill.

     Cathedral – Kyle Brady, Matthew Rymer, Peyton Jenkins, Dakota Vaughn, Rodney Hall, Brandt Pugh, Jake Smilo, Christian Jenkins.

     Salem-Cameron Robinson, David Carr, Stevie Quinn, Jonathan Wilson, Blaine Bossier, Shannon Damond, Zack Bacot.

      Dexter – Clifford Fernandez, Dante Butler, Vonte Owens, Marcus Mark, Rakeem Robinson, Kevin Magee.

     Hinds AHS – Brodrick Taylor, Greg Watts, Deandre Sielmon, Aaron Terrell, Te’Yarious Jones.

     St. Aloysius – Sage Lewis, Elliott Bexley, Drak Dorbeck.

     Mount Olive – Zarrick Jenkins, Dreshown Brooks, Devonta Clark.

     Resurrection Catholic – Reggie Stallworth, Trey Hofheinz.

     Hartfield Academy – Graham Yeatman, Brewer Eldridge.


     Bogue Chitto – Marcus Moak, Jimmie McNulty, Zeek Perkins, Kayin Perkins.

     Stringer – Mason Avery, Lorenzo Crosby, Zach Alridge, Jacob Peacock.

     Cathedral – Ty Brown, James Allen Coley, Josh Wilkerson, Parker Rymer.

     Salem – Mark Plaunche, Nick Henry, Tae Smith, Austin Fazande.

     Dexter – Dabben McGowan, Rashad Porry, Kendarius Lenoir, Deanthony McGowan.

     Hinds AHS – Labarion Taylor, Zaveon Branch, Anfernee Thomas, Derius West.

     Mount Olive – Jamario Magee, Desmond Williams, Zaneil Chatman, Elandis Thompson.

     St. Aloysius – [Josh Price, Max Loving, Demichael Harris.

       Resurrection Catholic —  Troy Cobb, Larry Sisson, Christian Miller.

     Hartfield Academy —  Zach Claycomb, Ryan Wesson.